Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson R-D1x Rangefinder  (Read 10398 times)

DarkPenguin

Epson R-D1x Rangefinder
« on: February 27, 2009, 10:56:27 am »

It has been what?  4, 5 years since the R-D1?  Their CEO's camera finally break?

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0902/09022701...rangefinder.asp

250swb

Epson R-D1x Rangefinder
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 05:46:13 pm »

I would say the world is crying out for a proper up to date digital rangefinder (non-Leica and affordable) that takes Leica M/Voigtlander lenses, so why oh why re-release this? They must have found a pile of unused parts and decided to get them shifted out the factory come hell or high water. Only for the Japanese home market I see.

Steve

james_elliot

• http://www.photo-lovers.org
Epson R-D1x Rangefinder
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 05:51:26 pm »

The R-D1 was a wonderful camera. I have been using one for more than 4 years, and made thousands of shot with it.
It was a good camera for mountain hiking with the Konica 28/2.8, very robust. It was a wonderful camera for street shooting. When shooting with the R-D1 with the LCD backfliped, people usually think you are using an old camera and are always sympathetic or at least tolerant, while shooting with my 1DsMII has always been difficult.
Last, it was also a wonderful camera for social events along with the Voigtlander Nokton 50/1.8, and the R-D1 was, for its time, extremely good at high ISO with its Nikon CCD APS-C sensor (test here).
It could be fitted with very inexpensive Fuji batteries (the NP-80).

I began to use it less this summer when I bought a 450D as a second camera for hiking. If the 450D doesn't look as "solid" as the R-D1, it is lighter, and its 12MP has a clear edge over the old R-D1 6MPix.