Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 5DII autofocus  (Read 4542 times)

Jeremy Roussak

  • On Probation
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8961
    • site
5DII autofocus
« on: February 23, 2009, 04:33:45 am »

This is probably written down somewhere, but I can't find it.

Will the 5DII autofocus work with a 100-400L and a 1.4TC?

Jeremy
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13196
5DII autofocus
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2009, 04:43:05 am »

Quote from: kikashi
This is probably written down somewhere, but I can't find it.

Will the 5DII autofocus work with a 100-400L and a 1.4TC?

Jeremy
I believe that only 1Ds/1D bodies will focus (AF) with the 100-400 + 1.4x extender. It would give you a f/8 and 5D can only autofocus up to f/5.6.

Edit: it might be possible to autofocus if you tape the contact pins on the lens but AF will be really slow.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 04:45:55 am by francois »
Logged
Francois

Ronny Nilsen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 361
    • The Quiet Landscape
5DII autofocus
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2009, 07:04:55 am »

Quote from: francois
I believe that only 1Ds/1D bodies will focus (AF) with the 100-400 + 1.4x extender. It would give you a f/8 and 5D can only autofocus up to f/5.6.

Edit: it might be possible to autofocus if you tape the contact pins on the lens but AF will be really slow.

Taping the pins will not solve the fundamental problem that at least part of the AF senors will not be able to "see"
out of the lens because the spacing of the sensors demands at least a f/5.6 opening. The AF of the 1D cameras
have better sensors that are closer spaced (and compensate by being more accurate) to be able to give AF with
only a f/8 opening.

See the Phase detection section to understand why taping the pins will not work reliably.

Ronny
Logged
Ronny A. Nilsen
www.ronnynilsen.com

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13196
5DII autofocus
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2009, 07:19:32 am »

Quote from: ronnynil
Taping the pins will not solve the fundamental problem that at least part of the AF senors will not be able to "see"
out of the lens because the spacing of the sensors demands at least a f/5.6 opening. The AF of the 1D cameras
have better sensors that are closer spaced (and compensate by being more accurate) to be able to give AF with
only a f/8 opening.

See the Phase detection section to understand why taping the pins will not work reliably.

Ronny
Ronny,
I didn't say that taping the pins would produce reliable AF performance. Even on my EOS-1 bodies, a 100-400 + 1.4x extender produces slow AF and the accuracy is average at best. On top of that, I'm not sure that mounting a 1.4x extender on the 100-400 is really useful (speaking of IQ).
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 07:21:44 am by francois »
Logged
Francois

Jeremy Roussak

  • On Probation
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8961
    • site
5DII autofocus
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2009, 03:45:40 am »

Thanks. I think I shan't bother with the extender.

Jeremy
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13196
5DII autofocus
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2009, 04:12:03 am »

Quote from: kikashi
Thanks. I think I shan't bother with the extender.

Jeremy
Jeremy,
The 1.4x extender works fine with the 70-200 (f/4 or f2.8) but I wouldn't buy it as "companion" for the 100-400 only.
Logged
Francois

Jeremy Roussak

  • On Probation
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8961
    • site
5DII autofocus
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2009, 01:07:19 pm »

Quote from: francois
Jeremy,
The 1.4x extender works fine with the 70-200 (f/4 or f2.8) but I wouldn't buy it as "companion" for the 100-400 only.
Thanks - I'll think about that, as the 70-200/4 is on my list of lenses to buy (along with the 85/1.8; I have the 24-105/4). I'm hiring the 100-400 for a holiday on which I hope to see some tigers and I was just wondering if I'd get decent performance with the 1.4x. It seems not, and I think in reality I probably don't need it, given the resolution of the 5d2.

Jeremy
Logged

mahleu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 585
    • 500px
5DII autofocus
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2009, 02:10:27 pm »

Quote from: kikashi
This is probably written down somewhere, but I can't find it.

Will the 5DII autofocus work with a 100-400L and a 1.4TC?

Jeremy

According to Canon it will (in one of their brochures)
Logged
________________________________________

scubastu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
    • www.final-frame.com
5DII autofocus
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2009, 04:44:56 pm »

Quote from: mahleu
According to Canon it will (in one of their brochures)

No it won't. It will only AF with an f5.6 or faster lens, you'll need a 1 series body to AF with an F8 equivalent.
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13196
5DII autofocus
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2009, 02:43:48 am »

Quote from: scubastu
you'll need a 1 series body to AF with an F8 equivalent.

And AF will only use the center point.
Logged
Francois
Pages: [1]   Go Up