Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Monitor comparison  (Read 3597 times)

butlerkid

Monitor comparison
« on: February 18, 2009, 04:39:05 pm »

My 9 yr old Sony Trinitron CRT is going south....UGH!  Wait....YEAH....I get to buy.....somthing!

I have a Dell XPS 710, 4 gb RAM, Nvidia 8600 GTS video card with 256 memory.  Video card  supports 2560 x 1600 res.

After much research I'm considering the NEC LCD3090WUZi2 30"

or an NEC LCD2490 or 2690 and a smaller, cheaper monitor for internet use and CS4 palettes.

I'm an amateur photographer using CS4 and an Epson 2400.

All comments and advice needed and encouraged!

Thanks!

Karen

digitaldog

• Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Monitor comparison
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2009, 04:48:47 pm »

I've got both the 2690 and 3090, pretty much the same expect for size and price. The 2490 isn't a wide gamut display like the others and is smaller still.

Just be sure you get the SpectraView II software and a supported instrument to calibrate and profile any of the above. That's where they really shine.
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

butlerkid

Monitor comparison
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2009, 05:00:32 pm »

Quote from: digitaldog
I've got both the 2690 and 3090, pretty much the same expect for size and price. The 2490 isn't a wide gamut display like the others and is smaller still.

Just be sure you get the SpectraView II software and a supported instrument to calibrate and profile any of the above. That's where they really shine.

Thanks, Andrew!

I think the 2690 has the A-TW polarizner and the 3090 does not.  Does this make a difference?

Karen

digitaldog

• Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Monitor comparison
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2009, 05:46:59 pm »

Quote from: butlerkid
I think the 2690 has the A-TW polarizner and the 3090 does not.  Does this make a difference?

Other than size, I don't see a difference.
http://www.digitaldog.net/