Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Sigma DP1 - Good enough for stock  (Read 13503 times)

neil74

Sigma DP1 - Good enough for stock
« on: February 14, 2009, 07:25:10 am »

Hello all,

I have a DP1 which I have been shooting alongside my DSLR for the last 6 months, the files are very good and take interpolation wel,l in the first few months I had plenty accepted by alamy.

Recently however this has changed and I have had several batches rejected due to "soft and lacking definition, camera not suitable for alamy" My workflow has not changed and I am wondering if alamy have changed their view on dp1 files? The images are very clean but without interpolation they are small. I really like the camera but if it is unsuitable for stock then it all of a sudden becomes far less useful.

Wondering whether to persevere or sell on?

Feedback from other DP1 (or sd14) owners appreciated.

Neil

Plekto

« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 03:48:27 pm »

Unfortunately, they are right.  The Sigma/Foveon sensors are in need of a serious upgrade.  They really put out about 4-5MP and that's just not going to compete with the 12-25mp crowd which can literally throw away pixels to smooth out the image and still show more detail than the DP1.

Check out the Fuji S5 Pro - its sensor technology produces very clean results like the DP1.  Very clean, smooth, and good contrast(on-sensor HDR bracket and blending/noise reduction).  Not the highest resolution option out there, but it's very easy to shoot with and get back good results.  Especially outdoors.

Oh - and it easily blows the SD1 away in terms of that "look" that the stock sites would want(sharper, more contrast and definition).  You can get one used for cheap and stick just about any Nikon lens on it as well.  It's not the best camera out there, but it does have huge dynamic range - about 9 stops! - and produces very good shadow detail.  For the price, that is. Obviously, get a used one for $500-$600.