Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Flying issues  (Read 5423 times)

jrmintz

Flying issues
« on: December 21, 2008, 07:48:13 pm »

I'll be flying with my camera for the first time in a while in a few days. I'm a musician, so I have to bring a bass guitar onboard, as well as my laptop briefcase. Is it safe to pack my 5D and a lens or two in my checked luggage? I don't think I'll have a prayer of fitting it in my briefcase. It will be a nonstop domestic flight in the US. Has anyone had experiences, good or bad?

Thanks

Colorado David

Flying issues
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2008, 08:29:17 pm »

I fly frequently and carry quite a lot of equipment.  I always carry on my cameras.  I put peripheral equipment in checked baggage, but when they're x-rayed, they always are searched by TSA.  I don't worry about TSA taking anything, but they're not always repacked the way I had them.  So far I haven't lost anything and haven't had anything damaged.  The airline regulations usually discourage you from packing camera equipment in checked bags.

francois

Flying issues
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2008, 04:47:15 am »

Quote from: jrmintz
I'll be flying with my camera for the first time in a while in a few days. I'm a musician, so I have to bring a bass guitar onboard, as well as my laptop briefcase. Is it safe to pack my 5D and a lens or two in my checked luggage? I don't think I'll have a prayer of fitting it in my briefcase. It will be a nonstop domestic flight in the US. Has anyone had experiences, good or bad?

Thanks
Frankly, I wouldn't check my camera gear... unless I have a very good insurance. As David said above, checked suitcases and bags very often go through TSA manual inspection and sometimes, the re-packaging is far from optimal. I wouldn't blame them as they have very little time to perform those operations. On my last flight, two of my books were damaged.
Francois

jrmintz

Flying issues
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2008, 09:09:40 am »

Thank you!

pindman