Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A desktop developer?  (Read 11773 times)

Christopher.Jowell

A desktop developer?
« on: December 14, 2007, 02:19:46 pm »

I'm aware of the automated 35mm machines that used to be in retail stores and that's not exactly what I'm trying to describe.  Rather I am talking about something more similar to a current desktop ink jet printer, only a device that develops medium format film.

I have been wondering if it wouldn't be fairly easy to design & build an automated desktop / desk-side medium format film development system.  Unless I'm missing some obvious detail it strikes me a fairly knowable / doable thing.  I guess I should mention that my day job is the development of professional medical diagnostic devices, so building a machine that moves fluids from point A to B precisely is all in days work for me.

Years ago my father & I setup a darkroom and developed our own black & white film... I'll be the first to admit, despite being fascinating & fun, it was a real pain in the behind for what you got out of it.  Having a device which was automated and precluded the need for a separate darkroom would really be an incentive to pick film back up... and be really fun in the process.

Does anyone know of such a thing or know someone who has built one?

bob mccarthy

• http://
A desktop developer?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2007, 04:13:31 pm »

I'm aware of the automated 35mm machines that used to be in retail stores and that's not exactly what I'm trying to describe.  Rather I am talking about something more similar to a current desktop ink jet printer, only a device that develops medium format film.