Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Traditional photographic prints vs. inkjet prints  (Read 17253 times)

PSA DC-9-30

Traditional photographic prints vs. inkjet prints
« on: June 18, 2007, 02:10:24 am »

I'm fairly new to digital photography, and I have been using a local photography store / lab to print my photos. They use photographic paper and chemicals. I've been very pleased with the results for the most part, and the prints look significantly better than what I see on my monitor.

Lately, I've read a lot about inkejets, pigments vs. dyes, etc. I owned an inkjet years ago (was not a high end model) and became very frustrated with the small fortune I was spending on a regular basis to replace even the four ink cartridges this printer used. So, given that I'm happy with the prints I'm getting from my local store and the fact that I have no desire to spend an even larger fortune constantly replacing 8+ color cartridges, I feel absolutely no desire I buy an inkjet. I will not be using it often enough to avoid clogged print heads (= more $$$).

So, aside from instant gratification, what will I be missing out on by not owning / using an inkjet printer? Are inkjet prints made using pigment based inks of greater archival quality than traditional photographic prints? Can the best inkjets equal or even excel a really good traditional photographic print?

Dale_Cotton

• http://daystarvisions.com
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2007, 08:31:32 am »

Since you are happy with the lab prints you are getting, you are absolutely right to stick with them - and I speak as someone who owns a $2K printer and who spends a minimum of $2K/yr feeding it ink and paper.

Professionals who sell some combination of a large quantity of prints at lower prices or a small quantity of prints at a higher price can presumably cost-justify in-house printing. As an amateur, I most definitely cannot.