Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Why Antarctica Again?  (Read 38517 times)

cdmacko

Why Antarctica Again?
« on: March 14, 2007, 05:14:54 pm »

I am new to the message board so first I want to say that I've been a fan of Michael Reichmann's site, photography and the video journal for a couple years now. But I am kind of puzzled why he would go all the way back to Antarctica again for a photography workshop.
The way I see it, it is a really hard place to get to and the reward isn't that great. I'm guessing that it is expensive and time consuming to get there. Then the visuals seem quite repetitive and run-of-the mill. One doesn't have to go all the way to Antacrtica to get most of those shots.
Anyway, I am a fan of the expeditions portfolios he's done such as China, Bangladesh, African Safari etc. but the first Antarctic expedition wasn't one of my favourites. Anyone know why he went back for more when there are so many other places to explore? Please excuse me if the answer has been spelled out somewhere already, I looked.

michael

Why Antarctica Again?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2007, 05:31:35 pm »

Several reasons....

It's among the most enjoyable things I've ever done (standing up).

The photographic opportunities are amazing (regardless of what you may think).

I can make some money doing it.

Michael

wtlloyd

Why Antarctica Again?
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2007, 06:04:27 pm »

Party.

He goes to party.  

Ben Rubinstein

Why Antarctica Again?
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2007, 06:09:13 pm »

Apparently the rolling waves under the ship really relax him?  

Tim Gray

• http://www.timgrayphotography.com
Why Antarctica Again?
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2007, 06:14:44 pm »

Where else would you get a penguin & sea "thing" shot?  

paulbk

Why Antarctica Again?
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2007, 06:15:19 pm »

Michael,