Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.  (Read 1222 times)

Dinarius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1218
Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« on: July 05, 2023, 05:37:45 am »

I have been exporting from C1 and using Edit With Photoshop in PSD a lot. It's very useful for some things.

I've only just tried using this export command to try out ACR's new(ish) Super Resolution enlarging feature.

When the export dialog appears, you have to change the file type from the PSD default to .dng. This will open the file in ACR.

Now, after you use Enhance to enlarge the file to 200%, choose Open to send it back to PS. Then File/Save and choose .dng to put it back in C1.

I've compared the following three 200% enlargements at 100%.

1. File enlarged to 200% by Super Resolution.
2. File exported from C1 @ 200%
3. File exported from C1 at 100% and the enlarged to 200% in PS via Image/Image Size/Preserve Details 2.0.

The difference between Super Resolution and the other two is considerable.

Would be interested to hear other views.

Also, would be interested to hear comparisons with third-party enlargement plugins, which I don't have.

D.
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3374
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2023, 07:59:42 am »

This was discussed a bit two years ago. https://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=137874.msg1232218#msg1232218

My experience is still that super resolution doesn't give as good results as simply scaling up in Photoshop.
Logged

Jonathan Cross

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 645
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2023, 10:05:11 am »

This was discussed a bit two years ago. https://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=137874.msg1232218#msg1232218

My experience is still that super resolution doesn't give as good results as simply scaling up in Photoshop.

I use super resolution in LR and remain there for subsequent processing. I print using Canon’s Print and Layout plugin. I use super resolution usually prior to cropping. I am pleased with the results. I am using the latest version of LR. If the previous thread was 2 years ago, perhaps later versions are improved.

Jonathan

Logged
Jonathan in UK

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3374
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2023, 10:21:57 am »

If the previous thread was 2 years ago, perhaps later versions are improved.
I tried it again today with the latest versions of LR & PS and still see the nasty artefacts SR adds.

Maybe it works for some images, but nothing I've tried looks better.

Logged

Dinarius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2023, 10:30:27 am »

After further testing...

The DNG back in C1 is not super sized, though it has the filename Enhanced-SR.

The PSD back in C1 is super sized. However, it is slightly darker than the original RAW and the DNG (which are identical) and there is a noticeable colour shift - less saturation and duller.

Apart from Enhanced SR, I am making no edits in ACR. My intention is to do these back in C1. But, if I can't fix this darkening/colour issue, I'm stuck.

D.

Logged

Jonathan Cross

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 645
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2023, 06:02:08 pm »

I tried it again today with the latest versions of LR & PS and still see the nasty artefacts SR adds.

Maybe it works for some images, but nothing I've tried looks better.



Perhaps you are right.  I tried it with iPhone 12pro RAW images and some did have artefacts, some didn't.  When I use it with my Fuji X-T4, then it seems OK.  I am using it prior to cropping and am happy if I can print the cropped version at the same size and dpi as the original to the same standard.  This happens when I do not have the right lens with me.

Logged
Jonathan in UK

Dinarius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2023, 06:13:48 am »

I've tried other edits of the DNG exported to PS/ACR, such as brightness. None of the edits is saved to the DNG which appears back in C1. I can only assume that the DNG export feature is there with the intention of saving the edited file to another location (not C1) and not to have the option of further edits back in C1, such as with a PSD export. PSDs do arrive back in C1 with their PS edits intact.

As an aside: I was going to send a support ticket to CaptureOne to see if I'm doing something wrong. But, I see that they now only accept support tickets with both Logfiles AND Screen Recordings attached. I couldn't be bothered working out how to do this.

I'm using version 22 and I have no intention of submitting to their new payment structure. I can see from other threads on this forum that I'm not the only one not happy with the direction this product is being taken. I get a lot more from Adobe for my tenner a month.

D.

Ps. A workaround to my issue is to open a RAW file in ACR, apply Super Resolution, save it as a DNG and only then open it in C1. But, since it's possible to export a DNG from C1 to ACR, I'd like to be able to do it this way, if possible.
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3374
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2023, 07:21:40 am »

I've tried other edits of the DNG exported to PS/ACR, such as brightness. None of the edits is saved to the DNG
Why would you expect tonal changes to be carried out on a raw file ?
Quote
. PSDs do arrive back in C1 with their PS edits intact.
Because they're rendered pixel based images.
Quote
I get a lot more from Adobe for my tenner a month.
So just use Lightroom
Logged

Dinarius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2023, 06:46:16 am »

A TIFF saved from C1 @ 200% is the same size as a DNG created using ACR Super Resolution. (680Mb in the case of my Canon 5D files.)

So, is the DNG a real DNG raw, or a TIFF in a DNG wrapper?

Obviously, there's no space saving. I'd just like to clarify if its RAW.

D.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 20673
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2023, 08:52:13 am »

Enhance DNGs include both the linear raw data produced by Super Resolution, Raw Details, and Noise Reduction and the original raw mosaic (color filter array) data, converted to standard DNG representation.  So in that sense, the Enhance DNGs do "embed" the raw data.   But they don't include byte-for-byte copies of the original raw file.
Logged
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

Dinarius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2023, 09:30:45 am »

Enhance DNGs include both the linear raw data produced by Super Resolution, Raw Details, and Noise Reduction and the original raw mosaic (color filter array) data, converted to standard DNG representation.  So in that sense, the Enhance DNGs do "embed" the raw data.   But they don't include byte-for-byte copies of the original raw file.

Thanks.

So, am I better to Enhance/Super Res a fully edited C1 TIFF, rather than process a Super Res .DNG? Sounds like it.

D.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 20673
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Exporting to Adobe Camera RAW to use Super Resolution.
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2023, 11:12:57 am »

Thanks.

So, am I better to Enhance/Super Res a fully edited C1 TIFF, rather than process a Super Res .DNG? Sounds like it.
I don't use C1 so I have no idea if it plays nice with a partially processed (by Adobe) Linear DNG.
Logged
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".
Pages: [1]   Go Up