Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: M2 Max vs M2 Ultra  (Read 876 times)

steverap

• Rappaport Photography
M2 Max vs M2 Ultra
« on: June 13, 2023, 10:47:41 am »

I am a photographer working mostly with a Sony a7R V and my RAW files are about 130 MB. I use Lightroom, Camera Raw, and Photoshop in my workflow. I do most of my editing in Photoshop and my files usually have a dozen or more layers, often including a few smart layers, so the resulting files are often 3+ GB. I use Photoshop's Generative Fill and other AI-powered functions, but I do not do any video work. 

I intend to buy a Mac Studio and am debating whether to buy the M2 Max or the M2 Ultra. Is the Ultra worth it for someone with my workflow? Thanks, Steve

jeyell

Re: M2 Max vs M2 Ultra
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2023, 09:08:22 am »

Rather than spend just on the processor, consider increasing a Max with more memory 32-64GB and SSD 4TB etc
The speed of inbuilt storage on M Macs is as fast as you can get. So if your image library fits, mount it in the Mac and it flies.

mcbroomf

• Mike Broomfield
Re: M2 Max vs M2 Ultra
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2023, 01:50:02 pm »

I am a photographer working mostly with a Sony a7R V and my RAW files are about 130 MB. I use Lightroom, Camera Raw, and Photoshop in my workflow. I do most of my editing in Photoshop and my files usually have a dozen or more layers, often including a few smart layers, so the resulting files are often 3+ GB. I use Photoshop's Generative Fill and other AI-powered functions, but I do not do any video work.

I intend to buy a Mac Studio and am debating whether to buy the M2 Max or the M2 Ultra. Is the Ultra worth it for someone with my workflow? Thanks, Steve