Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?  (Read 1138 times)

BradSmith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 772
Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« on: April 27, 2023, 05:18:45 pm »

I usually crop each image to look its best.  But I get sick and tired of having to click "unlock" on every single image.  Can I somehow set "unlock" as my default?  Or can I synchronize "unlock" across many images?
thanks,
Brad
Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1538
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2023, 04:40:02 am »

Mine seems to be the other way, ie permanently unlocked.  No idea if I did anything, nor if it was locked and changed at some point. 

Sorry, I don't want to try switching it to test anything  :) but I'd try to synch some files and if it works create a preset with just crop selected (but no actual cropping) that you could use after import.
Logged

fdisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1853
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2023, 05:56:43 pm »

Not exactly set "unlock" as default (at least I'm not aware that's possible) but there is a workaround:

- Select all the images you want to modify
- Open the crop tool and unlock the aspect ratio
- Crop the image just enough so the parameter next to the lock changes to "custom". This step is necessary, otherwise the images will revert to "original" when closing the tool
- Close the crop tool

Now all the images previously selected will be unlocked.

PeterAit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4559
    • Peter Aitken Photographs
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2023, 10:07:07 am »

In my experience, the lock setting is always the same as it was for the previous photo.
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3369
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2023, 12:38:28 pm »

Open an image that hasn't been cropped > set what option you'd like as the default (Don't actually crop the image) > move back to the gallery without doing anything to the image.

Now the 'default' is set..... until you change it again.

The same works for most tools IIRC

HTH
Logged

BradSmith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 772
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2023, 04:16:06 pm »

Not exactly set "unlock" as default (at least I'm not aware that's possible) but there is a workaround:

- Select all the images you want to modify
- Open the crop tool and unlock the aspect ratio
- Crop the image just enough so the parameter next to the lock changes to "custom". This step is necessary, otherwise the images will revert to "original" when closing the tool
- Close the crop tool

Now all the images previously selected will be unlocked.

When I do exactly what you say, it DOES NOT unlock the other images.  But, if after slightly changing the crop, I then SYNC images for Crop, it DOES unlock all of the images.
Logged

BradSmith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 772
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2023, 04:25:54 pm »

Open an image that hasn't been cropped > set what option you'd like as the default (Don't actually crop the image) > move back to the gallery without doing anything to the image.

Now the 'default' is set..... until you change it again.

The same works for most tools IIRC

HTH

This suggestion doesn't work for me.  In Grid Mode, I open an uncropped image.  R to open Crop Window.  It is locked, so I change it to unlocked without actually cropping.  G to go back to Grid. Select the next image. It is still LOCKED, not unlocked.   
Logged

fdisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1853
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2023, 05:40:18 pm »

When I do exactly what you say, it DOES NOT unlock the other images.  But, if after slightly changing the crop, I then SYNC images for Crop, it DOES unlock all of the images.

You're right! I had the auto sync option on.

Stephen G

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2023, 03:32:26 am »

@BRadSmith: I share your frustration, but here's what I do to get the Lock/Unlock to stick:

in Develop tap R, tap the padlock to switch to the mode you want, tap R again. The mode is now stuck. The next image you open will maintain the mode you set.

Works 100% for me, hope it works for you too.
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3369
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2023, 04:10:30 am »

@BRadSmith: I share your frustration, but here's what I do to get the Lock/Unlock to stick:
in Develop tap R, tap the padlock to switch to the mode you want, tap R again. The mode is now stuck. The next image you open will maintain the mode you set.
Works 100% for me, hope it works for you too.
As I outlined above in reply #4, it's always worked for me, but Brad's installation must be faulty.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20648
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #10 on: May 01, 2023, 09:12:22 am »

in Develop tap R, tap the padlock to switch to the mode you want, tap R again. The mode is now stuck. The next image you open will maintain the mode you set.
Works 100% for me, hope it works for you too.
Me too, always has since day one.
If it doesn't for others, they have some issues that may require a preference reset.
Try resetting your Lightroom preferences:
https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-classic/help/setting-preferences-lightroom.html
Also see: https://community.adobe.com/t5/lightroom-classic-discussions/important-steps-for-manually-resetting-preferences-omitted-from-help-article/td-p/12972518

Quit Lightroom Classic.
macOS: Press and hold the Shift + Option keys.
Windows: Press and hold the Shift + Alt keys.
While holding down the keys, launch Lightroom Classic.
When asked, select "Yes". 
Logged
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

BradSmith

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 772
Re: Can You Batch UNLOCK the Crop/Aspect Ratio Function?
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2023, 04:19:06 pm »

Thanks to everyone for trying to help, but none of the above suggestions, including resetting Preferences solved the problem. 
The only workaround I've found on my installation is what I described in #5 above.

Brad
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up