Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Travel compact camera  (Read 1219 times)

lmatias

Travel compact camera
« on: March 15, 2023, 11:49:05 am »

Hello everybody

I've been an amateur photographer for a long time (since the days of 35mm film. I even used a Nikon F...).
I currently use a Nikon D200 with several DX lenses (and some old manual FX).

When traveling I usually use the D200 + Nikkor 18-200mm set but the weight (1.5kg) is starting to be unbearable and the camera is out of date.

I want to buy a light, compact machine with easy access to the main commands available on DSLRs (bracketing, exposure compensation, exposure and/or focus memorisation, etc). It may or may not have interchangeable lenses, but I want to have some zoom to get some range.

Must have viewfinder...

Image quality should be the best possible so I'm leaning towards sensors at least 1'' and at most APS-C. I give some value to image stabilization, in the body and/or in the lenses.

My preferences go to the models below but I accept your suggestions:
Canon G1 X MARK III 15-45mm f2.8-5.6 (23-69mm FX)
Sony DSC-RX100 VII 1'' 9-72mm f2.8-4.5 (24-200mm FX)
Sony DSC-RX100 VI 1'' 9-72mm f2.8-4.5 (24-200mm FX)
Canon PowerShot G5 X Mark II 1'' 8.8-44mm f1.8-2.8 (24-120mm FX)
Panasonic LX100 II 4/3 10.9-34mm f/1.7-2.8 (24-75mm FX)
Fuji X-S10 or X-T30 II with XF 18-135MM F/3.5-5.6 (27-203mm FX)
I'm quite inclined towards the Canon's but the 1'' sensor, which I've never used, raises some doubts and the volume/weight of the G1 Mark III also limits me a bit.

I think the Fuji set would be the best option in terms of image quality and versatility, but the high price and volume/weight are negative points

What are your opinions and suggestions?

Thanks

LM

Jonathan Cross

Re: Travel compact camera
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2023, 12:05:49 pm »