Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ideal Canvas for Printing Milky Way Images?  (Read 1491 times)

ourayimage

Ideal Canvas for Printing Milky Way Images?
« on: February 24, 2023, 01:23:11 am »

I'm a landscape photographer with a gallery in Colorado.  For the past five years, I have printed with a Canon Prograf 4000 printer and regularly use Canson Baryta Photographique II paper for framed prints (ANSI C size) and Lyve canvas for larger sizes. The Lyve canvas combined with Timeless Satin Varnish is excellent for daytime images but despite a significant amount of post-processing, which is customary for Milky Way images, I haven't been impressed with the resolution and color saturation with my canvas prints.  While sales of the MW images has been good, I thinking I can get more resolution and pop with a canvas that is smoother and has a satin or glossy finish.  I'm considering the Breathing Color 17M Satin canvas paper. Any suggestions?

Ryan Mack

• Ryan Mack on Facebook
Re: Ideal Canvas for Printing Milky Way Images?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2023, 06:30:40 am »

I’d try using the same canvas but using a gloss varnish. If you usually do multiple coats, you could also trying making all but the last (thin) coat gloss. That should help though not as much as all gloss.

dgberg

• http://bergsprintstudio.com http://bergscustomfurniture.com
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2023, 09:00:18 am »

We use Lexjets Sunset Select Matte with excellent results. We use matte canvas 100% and control the final sheen with the varnish.
Clearshield Satin is a beautiful finish. On occasion we mix a semigloss top coat. Rarely do we spray gloss and never matte.
Just like any other flat or matte finish it is like laying a piece of waxed paper over the print and the clarity is destroyed. YOMV

deanwork

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2023, 06:12:07 pm »