Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon Prograf 2000—shadow following gaps between prints in nested roll print lay  (Read 932 times)

cougar_daniels

Hello!

I'm a long time user of Canon Prograf 2000 printers in my school portrait business. I've been running two for several years, after retiring my Epson 7880s. These are very good printers, and mostly I've been pleased with them.

I want to say up front that I'm running InkOwl pigmented inks, refilling the Canon carts. I suspect that some on the forum will react to my query with an, "Aha! What did you expect?," so I want to get this out of the way. I ran these same inks in the Epson xx80 printers for years with zero issues, excellent print quality, and longevity that (appears to) rival the OEMs (I don't have 100 years to prove this nor did I run the kinds of tests Wilheim runs). Suffice to say, I have many happy clients and prints of my own that look great years later (I have nearly ten years using these inks, four plus with Canon PGF 2000!). Again: completely happy with third party (InkOwl) inks (see recommendation earlier in this forum).

Computer and software: running an older iMac 5K with i7 and 32GB RAM. OS =Big Sur 11.6.7. For years I used ImageNest, but recently switched to the excellent Qimage Q1 for page layout. I run Epson Premium Luster 24x100' rolls. [update: also printing from 2020 MBP 16” running Big Sur]

To the issue: this set up has worked just fine for several years. I've not changed the system, though I may have updated something inadvertently (but not majorly). I know—this is the uncontrolled variable. I have current Canon firmware and drivers.

The issues:
When I layout a print package—e.g., 8 wallets, 3–4x6s, 2–5x7s, 1–8x10, the Q1 clusters image for "best use" of paper. This means that I will have, say, the 8x10 vertically oriented in the top left corner of the page, two 5x7s running along its right edge, and wallets and 4x6s variously arranged next to those and variously on the page.