Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: best online guide/tutorials or book to processing landscape/seascape images?  (Read 950 times)

steveyates

Hi, sorry it sounds like a basic question, I've been a member for at least 10 years but never used the site!
I am actually a professional photographer of 30 years standing, but always been working, ie shooting weddings dogs and babies. I have now taken early retirement, (54 yayyy) and can now shoot entirely for myself. I shoot landscapes off the coast of scotland and england from the deck of a small sailing boat using xt1's  and am looking for the best ways to process these images to get the best from them.

I am sure the approach must be very different from what did for wedding images, where I was looking for efficiency and consistency in 600-800 images, and then cropping dodging and burning in photoshop, exactly as i used to in a darkroom;  now I look at a cull of perhaps 50 images from a week long trip, and know nothing of the techniques available.

So while I am vastly experienced on one hand, I am totally ignorant on the other :)

I use C1 20, photoshop cs 6, (still on desktop) and an old version of silvereffex fo my landscapes.

Any advice and pointers to good sources of information much appreciated.

Thanks.

mcbroomf

• Mike Broomfield

Switch to shooting Raw (you were probably shooting jpgs).

Subscribe to the Adobe Photo package giving to access to the most recent Lightroom Classic and Photoshop (not the CC versions) which are vastly superior to CS6.

Look around for some land/seascape editing tutorials (for LRC/PS) (many are free and many paid, so look for good reviews)
Here are a couple;
https://photoshopcafe.com/
https://jkost.com/blog/
« Last Edit: November 15, 2022, 04:59:10 pm by mcbroomf »

Jonathan Cross

Fwiw here’s my 4 penneth.