Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Image without a model release on book cover  (Read 2038 times)

LesPalenik

• advantica blog
Image without a model release on book cover
« on: November 13, 2022, 07:43:27 am »

It is perfectly legal and allowed to use an image with a recognizable person without a model release inside a book as an "editorial image".
Is it allowed to use such an image also on the book cover or would it require in such case a model release?

Slobodan Blagojevic

• When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
Re: Image without a model release on book cover
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2022, 09:26:20 am »

I am not a lawyer, but I would say yes, it could be used.

However... if the same book cover is used later to promote the book, that would be considered advertisement, thus outside the fair use doctrine. Me thinks... perhaps wrongly.

LesPalenik

• advantica blog
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2022, 01:18:30 pm »

Thank you, Slobodan. I wonder if the book cover is considered by default as a marketing tool when the book is listed online with the picture of the front cover.

BobShaw

• Aspiration Images
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2022, 04:59:28 pm »

Asking legal and financial advise on the Internet is fraught with danger. Surely the publisher would be better placed.
What is a "recognizable person"? A public person like a politician may be Ok but the average person in the street unlikely.
It would also depend on the country you are talking about.
Personally I always get a model release regardless of the situation.
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

LesPalenik

• advantica blog
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2022, 05:43:26 pm »

In this case, the main subject was an unknown kayak paddler on a stretch of white water river in Ontario, Canada. No street and no way to get a model release.

BobShaw

• Aspiration Images
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2022, 10:22:50 pm »