Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Mac Studio M1 Ultra 48 vs 64; Worth the Upgrade?  (Read 3593 times)

JoeKitchen

Mac Studio M1 Ultra 48 vs 64; Worth the Upgrade?
« on: September 08, 2022, 10:54:42 am »

I am thinking about ordering a new Mac Studio with an Ultra processer but I am unsure if the extra $1000 for the 64 core is worth it.  What are your thoughts? 

Personally, I am a professional photographer and would be using this on a daily basis.  I do not shoot video but work with medium format files at 60 MP, and may upgrade to a 150 MP back next year.  Part of my work flow with some of my work is to create two panoramas from at least 8 MF captures for each (but could be up to 14) and layer them in PhotoShop.  Theses files are at least 5 GB in size, but could get up to 12 GB. 

I would plan on maxing out the memory at 128 GB along with 4 TB of storage. 

P.S., for the pano files, I would be assembling and lining them up only.  All of the heavy retouching would be sent out. 
« Last Edit: September 08, 2022, 11:08:08 am by JoeKitchen »
"Photography is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent

Chris_Brown

• Smile dammit!
    • Chris Brown Photography
Re: Mac Studio M1 Ultra 48 vs 64; Worth the Upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2022, 12:14:55 pm »

I don’t know what the number of cores actually does for Capture One, Photoshop and other image processors. I had a 10-year old Mac Pro with an Intel 12-core processor, 32GB RAM and a RAID 0 configuration with two of the internal slots. It was fast for its time (2012). I upgraded to the the Mac Studio with the Ultra and 128GB/4TB memory setup and it is a definite improvement in speed and stability. It chews through 100MP files like my old Mac Pro did with 20MP files. Very quiet, too.

All programs I currently use are optimized/run natively on the Apple SoC. The downside was I lost function of the Canon Photoshop Printer Plugin for my old iPf8300.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2022, 09:13:07 am by Chris_Brown »