Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects  (Read 899 times)

sanfairyanne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 343
Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« on: May 29, 2022, 07:59:56 am »

I'm hoping someone can help me find, or give me advice, for creating an action to open multiple files as Smart Objects in Photoshop Layers. I can do this manually, but it would be good to have an action. I tried making one, however, I ran into some issues that are a bit too complex to explain. I know Tony Kuyper has this feature on his panel, but I'd like to know how to write my own.

Many thanks in advance.

Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1538
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2022, 07:42:29 pm »

John Beardsworth wrote a script for me some time ago to do this, though the images need to be opened as SO's in PS first.  The script then moves them into a single layered file and closes everything.  Make sure you have nothing else opened in PS.

https://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=122780.msg1022813#msg1022813


Logged

sanfairyanne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 343
Re: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2022, 10:31:08 pm »

John Beardsworth wrote a script for me some time ago to do this, though the images need to be opened as SO's in PS first.  The script then moves them into a single layered file and closes everything.  Make sure you have nothing else opened in PS.

https://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=122780.msg1022813#msg1022813

Thank you, I have the script, I'm just not sure how to work with a script. I'll have to do some Googling.
Logged

sanfairyanne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 343
Re: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2022, 03:38:55 am »

I have this script for building layers as smart objects in Layers in Photoshop. I followed a pretty good video on YouTube showing how to add a script, but in the video the person uses a .jsx file. So I assumed I'd have to copy this script into a Text Editor and save it as a .jsx file. I did that using Script Editor on the Mac. I saved it onto my computer but when I direct Photoshop to the script it is greyed out. I suppose it's not possible to allow sharing of files on the forum. I'll keep trying. Incidentally, I've been trying to open files as Smart Objects in Layers with Lightroom, I assume it's also not possible with Adobe Camera Raw?

    // LayerPasteAllToOne.jsx 
    // http://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=122780.msg1022848#msg1022848
    //  Save the file anywhere - desktop for testing
    // name it LayerPasteAllToOne.jsx
    // What it does is copy the active layer from each open file to the first file
    // then closes all the other files
    // regards john beardsworth 
     
    var AllDocs = app.documents; 
     
    if (AllDocs.length > 1) { 
    var itemDoc = null; 
     var otherDocs = Array();
     
    for (var m = 1; m < AllDocs.length; m++) {
         var aDoc = app.documents[m];
         app.activeDocument = aDoc ;
         var actLay = aDoc.activeLayer; 
           //change the layer name to the file's name
          var docName =   aDoc.name;
         actLay.name = docName.replace('-1','');
         //copy the layer or smart object to the first file
         actLay.duplicate ( app.documents[0] );   
        //app.refresh(); 
        // populate an array of the other files
        otherDocs.push(app.documents[m]);
        }
   
       //now close all the other files
    for (var m = 0; m < otherDocs.length; m++) {
        app.activeDocument = otherDocs[m] ;
        app.activeDocument.close(SaveOptions.DONOTSAVECHANGES);
        }
   
    } else { 
        alert ("No other documents open") 
        }

//copy this line too - this is the end
Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1538
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2022, 05:51:29 am »

"So I assumed I'd have to copy this script into a Text Editor and save it as a .jsx file."

That's what I did in Windows with Notepad (then changed the extension).  But if it's greyed out it sounds to me that for some reason it is not recognized as a .jsx file.
Any typo's, spaces in the file name?
I don't see why it should make a difference, but did you name it according to the instruction in the script?
"    // name it LayerPasteAllToOne.jsx"

If you PM me with your email I'll send you the version I created (if email allows it)

Lightroom doesn't recognize individual layers so no surprise.
Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1538
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2022, 05:53:05 am »

I don't knw much about MAC but look at the permissions of the file as well
Logged

sanfairyanne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 343
Re: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2022, 06:14:13 am »

"So I assumed I'd have to copy this script into a Text Editor and save it as a .jsx file."

That's what I did in Windows with Notepad (then changed the extension).  But if it's greyed out it sounds to me that for some reason it is not recognized as a .jsx file.
Any typo's, spaces in the file name?
I don't see why it should make a difference, but did you name it according to the instruction in the script?
"    // name it LayerPasteAllToOne.jsx"

If you PM me with your email I'll send you the version I created (if email allows it)

Thank you, I PM'd you. I'm sorry I'm no sure how to look at the permissions of the file. I'm a bit of a dummy with these things!

Lightroom doesn't recognize individual layers so no surprise.
Logged

nirpat89

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 661
    • Photography by Niranjan Patel
Re: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2022, 02:22:24 pm »

The problem is the saved action does not remember the Add Open Files command or the check on Create Smart Object on the script>Load Files as a Stack pop-up.  So you are stuck if trying to create an action.  It will stop where you have to manually do those 2 things when the window opens.  Defeats the purpose. 
Logged

sanfairyanne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 343
Re: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2022, 02:47:17 am »

Thank you McBroomf it's working now.
Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1538
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: Action to build layers in CC as Smart Objects
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2022, 05:01:19 am »

Thank you McBroomf it's working now.

Good to hear, thanks for letting me know ... puzzling why creating the file on a Mac didn't work.

Mike
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up