Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Are there "Standard" photo paper sizes?  (Read 1616 times)

samogitian

Are there "Standard" photo paper sizes?
« on: March 28, 2022, 06:42:42 pm »

I'm far from a beginner, but this seems like a beginner question so I'm going to ask it here (and yeah, I've kind of asked this before). I am going to make a gross oversimplification and say that there are two main aspect ratios in use today, 4:3 (the 4:3 format of course, but also the Pentax 645, Phase One XF, and Fuji GFX format) and 3:2 (the world of full frame 35mm sensors). Square formats are easy so I'm going to forget about those completely. 

How do we relate those to paper sizes? I come from 30 years of teaching in architecture schools so I am a strong believer in standards.
The largest prints I can print are easy because the short edge is 24', one of my favorite numbers. So I can print 24 x 36 (for my Leica gear) and 24 x 32 (for my Fuji GFX 100). Nice!
Other formats are harder, though. For 17" on the short edge, I can print on cut sheets in 17 x 22 and 17 x 25 (as far as I know only Red River makes the 17 x 25 sizes).

But what about if I upgraded from my 24" Epson 7570 to a 44" Epson 9570? I know some of you have those, what sizes do you print at? Again, 36 is a golden number that makes it easy... 36 x 27 and 36 x 24. But since (inexplicably), the 9570 is 4" short of 48" what are the bigger sizes you print at? And what about the smaller formats? 8 x 10, 8 x 11, and 8 x 11.5 don't work at all. 8 x 12 does, but who prints paper in that size?

Is it just crazycakes out there? Or are there some standards photographers or galleries adhere to that don't require mats, cropping images, or cutting paper? 

digitaldog

• Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Are there "Standard" photo paper sizes?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2022, 06:59:03 pm »

What came first, the frame (and ratios) or the print papers?  ;D