Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Where to buy wood frames with spacers  (Read 1275 times)

samogitian

Where to buy wood frames with spacers
« on: February 02, 2022, 12:55:19 pm »

Hoping this didn't get double posted. I think I deleted my previous post instead of posting it...

I am new to large format framing (up to 36 x 24") and am looking for some advice as to where to get frames online.

I went to the International Center of Photography the other day and identified how I'd like to frame my prints.

I will have my prints mounted on gatorboard for stability.

The frame should be a white wood maple frome, with no grain showing through.
The face should be 3/4" wide x 1 1/2" deep (I could go 1" wide and I could go deeper up to 2", but would prefer not too).

There should be a 1/2" spacer behind the acrylic (I can get that locally).
The print will not be matted, but rather the white edge of the print itself will act as a sort of mat, sitting behind the spacer.

Here is a photograph from the excellent Gillian Laub show that demonstrates what I am trying to do.
The frames and the spacers are the hard thing for me to find.
Any thoughts?

« Last Edit: February 17, 2022, 05:22:43 pm by samogitian »

Eric Myrvaagnes

• http://myrvaagnes.com
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
Re: Where to get specific frames online...
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2022, 02:13:36 pm »

I would contact framedestination.com to see if they can help you.
-Eric Myrvaagnes (visit my website: http://myrvaagnes.com)

mearussi

samogitian

« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2022, 06:30:12 pm »

I've looked on all those sites and couldn't find any white-painted wood spacers. Maybe they are there but well hidden.

mfrohman

« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2022, 06:55:52 pm »