Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down

Author Topic: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic  (Read 3934 times)

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3259
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #60 on: January 31, 2022, 04:30:40 am »

I am still not sure what is difficult to understand here
The difficulty is understanding why you need to crop every frame to some curious specific size.
"The original file is 8272 × 6200 pixels
I want to crop to 6750 x 4500"

When the desired output is different again; "2400 x 1600"

It makes little sense to me throwing away a quarter of the image all the time. Not only is it a waste of pixels(=quality), but it's giving you a headache in post processing.

Then you say you don't want to have to put an arbitrary crop on every frame, but then go on to say that every frame will have to be adjusted for centring anyway.

Surely the smart thing here is to frame correctly when shooting so you can use the standard locked 4:3 crop ratio on import to just trim the edges of frame ? This can all be done with a simple preset, as can the reduced size export.



Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19866
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #61 on: January 31, 2022, 08:38:37 am »

Surely the smart thing here is to frame correctly when shooting so you can use the standard locked 4:3 crop ratio on import to just trim the edges of frame ? This can all be done with a simple preset, as can the reduced size export.
Exactly! Which is pretty much how I handle my monthly product shots. They are small so all shot on a fixed copy stand setup. Bobs major problem here other than an ability to listen or RTFM:
There seems to be some perverse human characteristic that likes to make easy things difficult.” -Warren Buffett
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4160
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #62 on: January 31, 2022, 12:06:21 pm »

No, I don't. I want to crop the individual images as I said at say 6750 x 4500 which changes the shape and relative size of the product in the frame, and centre them.  That's it. Later I can select all images (which may be 300) and export as required at say 2400 x 1600.

Anyway, we have categorically established finally that the digital values of a crop are not displayed in Lightroom Classic so end of story.

Thanks for your interest.

I think i would use photoshop to that for me in some batch action... never crop in LR
It is in the photo subscription and a very essential part for me.
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu/la

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2090
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #63 on: January 31, 2022, 03:35:59 pm »

I think i would use photoshop to that for me in some batch action... never crop in LR
It is in the photo subscription and a very essential part for me.

Thanks.
That is one approach but it is destructive and a lot slower.
Never cropping in Lightroom is the answer though. (:-)
I batch the images in Photoshop to remove backgrounds.

I shoot 600 shots a day so comments to re-frame each shot are just not practical. There are large bags, medium bags, small bags, accessories, shoulder bags with long straps that are held vertical and I shoot front, back, sides, inside, bottom sometimes and a shot accessorised. So where possible they are all shot from the same spot, cropped, centred and exported. Done.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2022, 03:57:09 pm by BobShaw »
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19866
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #64 on: January 31, 2022, 03:38:59 pm »

Thanks.
That is one approach but it is destructive and a lot slower.
No and yes, so again you're in need of RTFM; Photoshop has a totally non destructive crop, IF you know how to use it. You don't it seems.
Slower, indeed. So I'll give you that!
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2090
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #65 on: January 31, 2022, 09:27:54 pm »

No and yes, so again you're in need of RTFM; Photoshop has a totally non destructive crop, IF you know how to use it. You don't it seems.
Slower, indeed. So I'll give you that!

The great thing for you as a true narcissist is that you will enjoy picking up a mirror and having a good hard look at yourself.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19866
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #66 on: January 31, 2022, 09:33:53 pm »

The great thing for you as a true narcissist is that you will enjoy picking up a mirror and having a good hard look at yourself.
What you said was wrong, nothing new in this thread:
That is one approach but it is destructive and a lot slower.
Clearly you don't know much about Photoshop and Lightroom Classic.
You can stop posting incorrect text about these products anytime you desire. Then most of us that have posted here can stop correcting you!
"Learning to control your reactions, saves you a lot of explaining, regretting, and apologizing."   -Remez Sasson
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2090
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #67 on: January 31, 2022, 09:49:24 pm »

What you said was wrong, nothing new in this thread:Clearly you don't know much about Photoshop and Lightroom Classic.
You can stop posting incorrect text about these products anytime you desire. Then most of us that have posted here can stop correcting you!
"Learning to control your reactions, saves you a lot of explaining, regretting, and apologizing."   -Remez Sasson

LMFAO x 3
You spend your entire life waiting for me to say something so that you prove what I just said. You must have some alert set to post in the same minute.
You don't understand my requirement so why devote your entire life to proving it? Let it goooooooooo.....

Again,
The great thing for you as a true narcissist is that you will enjoy picking up a mirror and having a good hard look at yourself.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19866
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #68 on: January 31, 2022, 10:40:55 pm »

LMFAO x 3
LMFAO
LMFAO

Quote
Don’t repeat yourself. It’s not only repetitive, it’s redundant, and people have heard it before." -Daniel Handler

The answer to your original and first question continues to be:yes!
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2090
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Importing Aperture into Lightroom Classic
« Reply #69 on: February 01, 2022, 04:05:39 pm »

Well this has been fun.

I am on holidays at the moment without Netflix so since the Tennis has finished this has been great entertainment.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Up