Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: New computer build  (Read 1903 times)

KeithR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 741
New computer build
« on: December 14, 2021, 04:13:39 pm »

In a previous question I asked about getting a new graphics card (my current one has only 512MB of ram), so I ordered one with 4GB in addition to new components for a new build. The current one is almost 11 years old and woefully under powered  :o
My next question, has to do with software.  What do I do with PS & LR for example? Since I have the subscription, do I need to delete it on the current computer before I put the new one in service and download it again? I have the catalog and my images on a different HD that I believe I can put in the new build, or should I just get a new SSD to stick into the build? Any other tips or things I need to be aware of would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Logged
The destination is our goal but itís the journey we experience

MDL_SD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Re: New computer build
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2021, 05:44:04 pm »

I think that it is certainly worth getting an SSD to use for your catalog and images in the new machine.  The Adobe subscription allows you to have the software on two computers so you should be fine leaving it on your old machine and adding it to the new computer (presuming that those are the only two computers that you have it installed on).
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3266
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: New computer build
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2021, 06:10:59 pm »

There are a few tutorials on moving LR between computers, Lightroom Queen and Julianne Kost are good names to Google for those.

On a new system build it with a decent sized M2 SSD for the system drive, then the catalogue and scratch disk for ACR on another SSD. Keeping the master image files on an SSD is rather a luxury with less benefit (depending on budget and volume of images).
Logged

KeithR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 741
Re: New computer build
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2021, 11:21:33 pm »

This will be a desktop re-build. I have LR & PS on a laptop & the current desktop so they're currently on two machines. The plan is to utilize what I can from the current desktop, meaning the tower, the internal drives (where practical) & possibly the power plant. The current build C drive is a 120 GB SSD, the LR catalog & images are on another internal drive & a 3rd internal drive is portioned for a raid and extra storage. I also have external drives for storage as well. The new build will have a new i7 11gen processor, updated MB,  1 TB SSD for the C drive & programs, etc., a GPU w/4 GB vram & 32GB DDR4 ram.
Logged
The destination is our goal but itís the journey we experience

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3266
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: New computer build
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2021, 03:52:09 am »

That's almost exactly the same spec as my current system I built this year and it runs LR&PS perfectly.
Do specify a M2 SSD on the motherboard, it is a step beyond a sata ssd in performance. As previously mentioned, a SSD for the catalogue and scratch disk will pay dividends too. My catalogue is 60k+images now and it won't be long until I need to upgrade the SSD it's on to 1tb.
Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1359
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: New computer build
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2021, 04:59:27 am »

As you already have LR and PS on 2 computers, when you install them on your new one and open them they will show you the 2 computers that are already using the license and allow you to deselect one of them (the old desktop obviously). 
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19950
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: New computer build
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2021, 09:11:28 am »

Logged
Author ďColor Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3266
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: New computer build
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2021, 10:07:36 am »

SSD and LR performance? Yes and no:
http://www.computer-darkroom.com/blog/will-an-ssd-improve-adobe-lightroom-performance/
An old article first written ten years ago; the updated bottom line is;
"(Update 2 Ė January 2021) Fast SSDís in various form factors have become the norm. So, the debate that initiated this essay is largely redundant. Itís also the case that the capacity of SSDís has now reached the point were they can realistically be used to store not just the catalog and previews but also many tens of thousands of raw photos. "
(My emphasis)

Since that update was written nearly a year ago you could now have the discussion about the performance improvements from using M2 SSDs  on the motherboard which read about five times faster than cheaper SATA ones and aren't shockingly expensive.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19950
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: New computer build
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2021, 10:31:55 am »

Yes old AND updated and still a useful read. For those interested in how and where SSD affect performance.
And you didn't provide:
Quote
As I review this essay in early 2021 (nearly 10 years after it was originally published) Iím struck by how little has changed regarding where Lightroom performance can be gained or lost. Sure we have faster processors, more ram and even faster SSDs. Nevertheless, in terms of Lightroom Classic performance, the relationship between these three components and my opinion on which is more important remains as it was back in 2011.
Logged
Author ďColor Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3266
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: New computer build
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2021, 11:00:30 am »

And you didn't provide:
That's at the top of the article and is superseded by the bottom line. " the debate that initiated this essay is largely redundant"

Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19950
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: New computer build
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2021, 11:13:05 am »

That's at the top of the article and is superseded by the bottom line. " the debate that initiated this essay is largely redundant"
It may be redundant to you.
You are not the OP.
The article wasn't provided solely for you!
The article stands on its own.
"Facts are facts and will not disappear on account of your likes." -Jawaharlal Nehru
Logged
Author ďColor Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3266
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: New computer build
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2021, 11:37:44 am »

The article stands on its own.
It's redundant, the original author says that.

If you can't add anything constructive, don't bother trying to start an argument, leave that behaviour elsewhere. It's not helpful here.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19950
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: New computer build
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2021, 12:04:19 pm »

It's redundant, the original author says that.
No, he didn't. The debate is largely redundant: I donít know if you are purposely trying not to understand this, or if you are really struggling with it.
You however are being redundent.
Again, the article stands on it's own, from a fellow Adobe LR alpha tester, it wasn't written or provided here just for you.
Itís fine if you disagree with me. I canít force you to be correct.
Quote
If you can't add anything constructive, don't bother trying to start an argument, leave that behaviour elsewhere. It's not helpful here.
Perfect example of pot calling kettle black.
Quote
It's not helpful here.
For you. The forums do not solely belong to you sir.
Logged
Author ďColor Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

KeithR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 741
Re: New computer build
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2021, 12:36:24 pm »

Since that update was written nearly a year ago you could now have the discussion about the performance improvements from using M2 SSDs  on the motherboard which read about five times faster than cheaper SATA ones and aren't shockingly expensive.

The 1 TB that I ordered is an M2 SSD and that will be used, as I said for programs, etc. The MB has positions for 2 M2 drives and I'm contemplating getting a 2nd one before the build this weekend. By the way, my son in law is the actual builder, I'm the just the procurer of parts. ;) so I'll need to tell him how I want things configured.
My thought at this point is to partition the M2 SSD in two with half going as the C drive, (programs, scratch disc, etc.) the other half for storage. A 2nd M2 SSD partitioned for a raid and extra storage. As I stated before, in my current build I have 1 SSD (120GB) and a pair of 7200rpm disc drives.
As of today, my thoughts are to copy the contents of my internal drive (desk top folders, programs and files) to external drives so that I can retrieve them after the build is finished.
Any more thoughts would be helpful and appreciated!
Logged
The destination is our goal but itís the journey we experience

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3266
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: New computer build
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2021, 01:04:51 pm »

My thought at this point is to partition the M2 SSD in two with half going as the C drive, (programs, scratch disc, etc.) the other half for storage. A 2nd M2 SSD partitioned for a raid and extra storage. As I stated before, in my current build I have 1 SSD (120GB) and a pair of 7200rpm disc drives.
Not sure what you're using a RAID for here, seems unnecessary to me.
Quote
As of today, my thoughts are to copy the contents of my internal drive (desk top folders, programs and files) to external drives so that I can retrieve them after the build is finished.
I just pull the old SSD and keep it as a back up. Then a clean install onto the new drive. Although a full re-install is a bit of a pain, it's always nice to start from scratch again and looses any clutter. Of course you need to ensure settings, add-ins, plug-ins, macros, actions etc are all backed up and easy to put back. I do this when I build a new system as a way for ensuring my back up policies work ;-)

FWIW this is how my system is set up

C: 1tb M2 -- System and programs
D: 4tb 7.2k HDD -- Photos
E: 3tb 7.2k HDD -- Video, sound recs etc
F: 1tb SSD LR catalogues, ACR cache, C1 catalogue

Pretty simple and easy to maintain.
Logged

KeithR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 741
Re: New computer build
« Reply #15 on: December 22, 2021, 06:35:54 pm »

I have completed (with the knowledgeable help of my son in law) my new build. I was able to run the hardware calibration on my BenQ monitor and will begin a reprofile of my P900. My next question has to do with Lightroom. I reinstalled LR & PS on the new ssd but the original catalog & images are on a separate hhd (this was the case prior to the rebuild).  What do I need to do so that I can point the reinstalled LR to the previous hhd & access my images?
Logged
The destination is our goal but itís the journey we experience

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19950
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: New computer build
« Reply #16 on: December 22, 2021, 06:42:49 pm »

What do I need to do so that I can point the reinstalled LR to the previous hhd & access my images?
As you can see, I have several HDs but most of my images are on this drive called Lightroom. Navigate to the top folder (ARs Photo's in this example), Alt/Option click to get the contextual menu and select Update Folder Location.
Logged
Author ďColor Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1359
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: New computer build
« Reply #17 on: December 22, 2021, 08:02:10 pm »

I have completed (with the knowledgeable help of my son in law) my new build. I was able to run the hardware calibration on my BenQ monitor and will begin a reprofile of my P900. My next question has to do with Lightroom. I reinstalled LR & PS on the new ssd but the original catalog & images are on a separate hhd (this was the case prior to the rebuild).  What do I need to do so that I can point the reinstalled LR to the previous hhd & access my images?

You don't want to create a new catalog and point it to all your images.  If you do that you'll get the images for sure but lose all of the edits. 

The 1st thing is simple open the old catalog on the external drive, assuming you want to keep in there.  ie the LR program is on your C drive but you're keeping the catalog where it was.
To do that locate the Lightroom folder (or what you may have named it) on your external drive and open it, then Open or double click on the .lrcat file.  LR will open using your old catalog.

Once that is done inspect the drives and folders in LR and see if its found all of the images.  I would hazard a guess that it will if the drive has the same letter, not if the latter has changed. 
If it has lost the location of the images then follow Andrew's post above to locate them,

Edit : If you want to move your catalog to a different drive, say a faster SSD, you'll need to copy the whole folder called Lightroom to the new drive and open the .lrcat file from there, then re-find the images as above.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2021, 08:06:14 pm by mcbroomf »
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3266
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: New computer build
« Reply #18 on: December 23, 2021, 04:10:53 am »

This is very well worth a read; https://www.lightroomqueen.com/how-move-lightroom-to-new-computer/

The aspect that has caught me out in the past is ensuring custom bits that get scattered around the system get replicated. Custom lens profiles, custom camera colour profiles, plug-ins, presets, preferences etc.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2021, 05:32:17 am by Rhossydd »
Logged

KeithR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 741
Re: New computer build
« Reply #19 on: January 26, 2022, 05:37:13 pm »

Hi Again. I completed the rebuild a short while ago and thought I had done what was suggested but something went wrong. This is what I posted to another forum but haven't had a reply yet. :
Somewhat confused. I recently did a computer rebuild (Windows 10/64) that included a new ssd which automatically became the new c drive and of course all the other drives advanced their drive letters. I reinstalled programs on the new drive including LR/PS. When I tried to move my images,etc (which were on a separate drive), I could see all my image folders in LR, however every folder has a question mark (?) next to it. I can click on the folder & see the images, but when I bring up any image, it says it can't find the folder. How can I fix this to be able to work on these?
Logged
The destination is our goal but itís the journey we experience
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up