Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom Classic and disaster preparedness  (Read 1064 times)

ymc226

Lightroom Classic and disaster preparedness
« on: November 11, 2021, 10:03:41 pm »

Using LR Classic subscription, MacPro 2013 and an OWC Thunderbay external drive.  I am just thinking of what to back up in case my Mac or external drive (has all my raw files) fails or are stolen.  I do back up all my raw files on the cloud but also on two separate NAS drives off site.  This means bringing an external SSD back and fourth from my office to home as I tried the Synology transfer function via the internet but was not stable enough to ensure all my files were transferred.  Other than the raw photo files, what other file(s) are necessary if my computer or external hard drive irreversibly fails?  My goal would be to replace the external drive, download LR Classic to a new computer and have LR back to where I left off.  I'm a hobbyist so there would be no urgency in getting back to form quickly.

mcbroomf

• Mike Broomfield
Re: Lightroom Classic and disaster preparedness
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2021, 04:30:46 am »

Unless you just didn't mention it the obvious extra is to backup Lightroom itself (ie catalog, previews etc).  If you don't do that then when you download LR again you'll be starting your catalog again from scratch (ie you'll have lost all the adjustments).

digitaldog

• Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2021, 11:51:13 am »

Backup EVERYTHING you can't ever afford to lose. For me, in respect to LR, that's all images, catalog, presets, profiles: everything to at least 3 differing drives, one ideally offsite.
LR's backup schema is lame and doesn't backup most of the important items listed above. Forget it.
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

simon.garrett@iee.org

« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2021, 06:19:15 pm »

The other question: how often to backup?