Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Perfect Match  (Read 1744 times)

Arlen

Perfect Match
« on: July 25, 2021, 11:33:12 pm »

I am no expert on the subject, but one thing I know for sure about our local hummingbirds. They love Crocosmia flowers like no other.

Rufous hummer, female.  f/4, 1/1600, ISO 3200

And the flowers seem to love them back, if you look at their design: long and tubular, with their high-energy nectar hidden away at the bottom. It’s as if these flowers and birds shared a
mutual exclusionary, evolutionary pact to work together: nectar in exchange for pollination. Few beasties without the hummingbirds’ long bill, and even longer tongue, can reach the prize.

Rufous hummer, female.  f/5.6, 1/5000, ISO 6400

But no. Hummingbirds are exclusively native to the Americas, having lived nowhere else for at least about 22 million years. Whereas Crocosmia plants are native to Africa, and were brought
to the New World only relatively recently. Just how recently, my searches have so far failed to reveal (any help with that would be appreciated), but it can’t be more than a few hundred
years. Too little time for much evolutionary coordination to have occurred. So this seems to be an accidental, opportunistic situation. Crocosmia undoubtedly favored another specialized
pollinator in its original environment.

Rufous hummer, female.  f/4, 1/800, ISO 3200

Thanks to my master-gardener wife, our western Oregon yard is full of flowers by July, at which time the Crocosmia reach their peak bloom. That’s also when hummingbirds show up in force;
usually Rufous males and females. Each bird stakes out a patch of Crocosmia and guards it fiercely from a nearby perch. This year, the patch where I chose to lurk was initially claimed by
a Rufous female. Any hummer interlopers are typically attacked and sent packing before they can insert beaks into flowers. The trespassers thus quickly learn to stay low, concentrating on
the more hidden blooms in the thicket.