Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Best Printer for Proofing Digital Images  (Read 1229 times)

dpphoto_clt

Best Printer for Proofing Digital Images
« on: June 09, 2021, 09:17:33 pm »

I'm looking for a small desktop printer that will deliver a good equivalent of my digital images. 

I'm an interior design photographer and quite often I have a client describe the images I've delivered as too dark or light, too cool or warm and so on.  Also, I've provided images to publications both national and local only to have them lack a good black or to loose detail in the highlights.

I calibrate my monitors regualery and feel pretty confident about the image quality I'm delivering but I would like to have proof (to my clients and myself) that the images are going to reproduce the way I see them on my monitors.

Is there a practical printer and paper combination that would be suited to this end?  I'm not looking for fine art printing here - just a good representation of my images. 

Thanks for any andvice!

kers

• Pieter Kers
Re: Best Printer for Proofing Digital Images
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2021, 07:09:49 am »

I understand your desire to have a printed proof; My printer is mainly used for that purpose.
I have a large format printer, but a good A3 printer would do well. Than i think of the Epson's and Canon's.
You don't need a fine art printer, but you do need a printer that is reliable and constant in its ouput.
The fine art part is expensive paper- you can use cheaper rc paper. Also pigment ink is not necessary.
But you need a printer that comes with icc profiles for that printer and paper combination.
If you want to have more perfection you can have made a dedicated icc profile made.
( do that if you are sure your printer is working perfectly)

PS you will notice for instance that a printed proof displays banding more clearly and the screen will show grain more clearly.
they both have different sensitivities
« Last Edit: June 10, 2021, 07:14:11 am by kers »