Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ACR Images Different Opened in PS  (Read 1107 times)

nkp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
ACR Images Different Opened in PS
« on: January 27, 2021, 11:39:25 am »

After having been using a dated version of Bridge/ACR/PS, I've begun using the cloud versions.  In the older versions, I make edits in ACR, and when I open them in PS, they look the same.

In the cloud version, when opened in PS, images look completely different.  When I save to a tif from ACR, checking the Adobe RRGB (90) workspace, etc., and then open in PS with this same default workspace, they still look completely different.  As I indicated, this has never been a problem in the previous version that I've been using.

What's happening here?  Any help on this will be much appreciated.  Unless I can fix this situation, I might just as well return to my dated version.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20668
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: ACR Images Different Opened in PS
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2021, 12:55:53 pm »

Check the embedded ICC profile in rendered images and how (what software) is either using them as they should to produce a match, or are not, because perhaps that software isn't color managed.
Logged
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

nkp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: ACR Images Different Opened in PS
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2021, 10:04:40 am »

Thank you for the suggestion. 

I reviewed the rendering, and I was attempting to work with a Phase One (P45+) IIQ raw file, bringing it into ACR, editing the image, and then converting it into PS.  So it was good to check the original file, because I normally convert these in Capture One.  I'm using an old (legacy) Mac Pro with the High Sierra operating system.

Picking up this line of thought, I instead opened the IIQ raw file in CO, and then converted it to a TIFF, specifying Adobe RGB '98 as the working space.  (I wonder if it's embedding the profile? Or not?) I then opened this converted TIFF in ACR, worked on the image, and opened it in PS.  Same thing, very different image.  In addition, I opened this same TIFF in Creative Suite IV ACR (Snow Leopard for this),  did some editing, and then opened the edited image into PS.  No problem, the images between ACR and PS were exactly the same.

I was working with another photographer many months ago, who was editing raw Nikon images using Lighroom.  She experienced the same problem then that I'm describing in this thread; when she converted and opened these images into PS, they were quite different. 
« Last Edit: January 28, 2021, 10:11:37 am by nkp »
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20668
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: ACR Images Different Opened in PS
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2021, 12:26:41 pm »

I was working with another photographer many months ago, who was editing raw Nikon images using Lighroom.  She experienced the same problem then that I'm describing in this thread; when she converted and opened these images into PS, they were quite different.
First, try disabling GPU in the preferences (Preformance tab). Any better?
If not, recalibrate and build a new ICC display profile, the old one might be corrupted.
If you are using software/hardware for this task, be sure the software is set to build a matrix not LUT profile, Version 2 not Version 4 profile.
If turning OFF GPU works, it's a GPU bug and you need to contact the manufacturer or find out if there's an updated driver for it. 
Logged
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".
Pages: [1]   Go Up