Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Advice (On Photography)  (Read 657 times)

John Camp

Advice (On Photography)
« on: December 23, 2020, 02:48:59 pm »

I'm actually a reasonably decent photographer of things I'm interested in, and I'm reasonably adept at using the basic parameters of photography to get the results that I want (that is, exposure, lighting, focus and the different options in each, and so on.) With, of course, the usual screw-ups, but since I'm not doing it professionally, they don't matter much. I also have good equipment. I've got a couple of questions I'm asking here because the more specifically relevant forums have been overtaken by the widget-twisters, and when I occasionally ask a question, I get what I presume are accurate answers that I don't understand. And I don't plan to do a lot of studying to increase my knowledge, because that seems to be a quicksand that never stops sucking.

Here are some things that I would like to know: I want to buy a decent 17-inch photo printer with a decent B&W capability. So, Canon, Epson or HP? When I mentioned widget-twisters (above,) these are people who are looking for a level of photo refinement far above my ambitions, and so they need a level of expertise far above my grasp. What I want to know is, what printer will give me the least trouble, with prints that are "good enough?" By least trouble, I mean trouble of all kinds. From what I've seen on prices of 17-inch printers on B&H, price is not a problem.

If I'm printing 17x22, and don't often make large crops, would it make any difference whether I'm using a Z6 or Z7 (24.5 vs 45.7mp?)

Is any brand of printer more or less amenable to third-party pigment inks of good quality?

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
Re: Advice (On Photography)
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2020, 06:09:59 pm »