Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Import keyword confusion  (Read 358 times)

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 617
    • mdiimaging.com
Import keyword confusion
« on: September 12, 2020, 02:47:50 pm »

I select a bunch pf keywords I want applied to imported images, but LR keeps putting in a bunch of keywords I did not instruct it to place.

How to fix?    see attachements below

MDIJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4690
    • My photography site
Re: Import keyword confusion
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2020, 10:32:33 am »

Are you using a metadata preset at any point? eg in the Import dialog. It's common that people save a preset with their copyright info and overlook that they checked the keywords and other boxes.

MDL_SD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: Import keyword confusion
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2020, 10:59:04 am »

If you have nested keywords and are showing all of the nesting you will add everything in the hierarchy above any word that you include.
Logged

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 617
    • mdiimaging.com
Re: Import keyword confusion
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2020, 03:30:28 pm »

Attached are all the panel that open related to the keywords I see.  I do not want any presets applied.  I do notsee a box to check that truns off any prests to be applied.  How do I accomplish that?

MDiJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4690
    • My photography site
Re: Import keyword confusion
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2020, 04:25:27 pm »

Your screenshot, while showing the problem, probably doesn't show its cause. One unlikely possibility is that you've applied those keywords by holding down Alt and using a number - this applies keywords from the Keyword Set, the grid of 9 items. But I doubt that's happening.

Do an Import and look at the right hand side of the Import dialog. I wouldn't be at all surprised if you were applying a metadata template/preset which includes keywords. Also look at the Metadata panel - have you been applying presets here?

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 617
    • mdiimaging.com
Re: Import keyword confusion
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2020, 07:41:05 pm »

Your siggestion was right on.  I think I fixed the preset.

Thanks
Logged
mdiimaging.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up