Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to Digital Medium Format - Seeking Advice for First Back  (Read 2586 times)

bw13366

New to Digital Medium Format - Seeking Advice for First Back
« on: August 24, 2020, 02:41:12 pm »

Hello! While I am not so new to photography, I am new to larg(er) digital sensors.  Some info about me:  I am a serious amateur that enjoys shooting landscapes almost exclusively. I have been shooting medium and large format film for years.  My current digital setup is a Nikon D850.  Film-wise, I shoot an Arca Swiss M line 2 that has been adapted to 4x5.  I have a medium format function carrier/bellows that came with the camera.  I am hoping to use this camera with a digital camera or back of some sort.  The reason I want to adapt my view camera to digital is so that I can use view camera movements with the convenience of digital and to get an observable increase in image quality.  My work usually doesn't involve long exposures over 4 minutes.  My film back budget is 5K USD, preferably less.  Since I don't need a digital back immediately, I am open to waiting up to a year for a sale/deal or new models to be introduced.

With that being said, if you were in my shoes, what medium format digital back would you recommend?  If it had a shorter flange focal distance, I would have already purchased one of the fuji GFX bodies, but I think that would leave me without a wide-angle lens that can focus at infinity.  I believe this leaves me with the option of a Hasselblad 907 50C, a used Phase One IQ 1 or 2 50 (or similar), or some other option (I am open to suggestions).