Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Going digital with RB67  (Read 8263 times)

Michal_Kat

Going digital with RB67
« on: August 05, 2020, 05:04:24 am »

I'm an amateur shooter that want's to learn, improve skills and shoot better. I started digital with D1H, D70, D200 and then A7II. All of them came and go. This year started for me without camera. I decided to buy Mamiya RB67 with 127mm lens and later Canon RP with EF28mm and EF 85mm. I'm loving canon for speed (focus on 3 year old), ease of use and overall digital convenience. However I absolutely love what RB67 can do with Portra 160/400. I'm completely happy with scans from my lab - even though they are 4,7 MPx I often feel they have more details in them then my 26MPx from Canon RP.
Now comes the question. How can I go digital with RB67 or other MF body/lens/DB combination to recreate what I'm getting from Mamiya? Take a look at the photos attached. I'm mostly doing family/friends portraits.
My understanding is that I should get a digital back. My budget allows me to get either P21+/P25+ for Hasselblad V (and I now I can get it to work with RB67) or (I have a good deal) P645DF with P21+ and 80mm.
Is it worth going digital in your opinion? I have feeling that film, dev and scanning is costing me too much.

Appreciate your opinion, feedback and help.

KenTanaka

• Photography by Kenneth Tanaka
Re: Going digital with RB67
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2020, 11:39:17 am »

Hello Michal!  Sounds like you've caught the dreaded shutter bug.  It's harder to recover from than COVID-19!  My condolences to your family.

Seriously, I know where you're at.  In fact I'm just in the process of selling several boxes of Mamiya RZ67 gear from by bout with that version of medium format may years ago.  Although it is a platform that can be made to work digitally it's not a very practical place for digital adaptation.  Rather klunky and jerry-rigged, and the results, at least for me, never justified the expense and efforts.