Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Program for a painting effect  (Read 930 times)

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
Program for a painting effect
« on: April 19, 2020, 09:59:48 am »

In my abundant spare time, I have started experimenting with making photos look more like paintings. Photoshop has a few tools in this line but they seem limited. Any suggestions for something that is more powerful and flexible? Thanks.

jrsforums

Re: Program for a painting effect
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2020, 10:30:01 am »

You may want to look at either Topaz Labs ‘Studio’ or Exposure Software (was Alien Skin) ‘Snap Art 4’
John

chez

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2020, 01:35:28 pm »

I use Corel Painter. Very powerful with many brushes and options. There is an automation option where you pick your brush types and set a few parameters then let it lose on a photo. I've been using it for a few years and have sold prints made from photos that I've painted using Painter.

Bart_van_der_Wolf

« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2020, 02:24:50 pm »

I use Corel Painter. Very powerful with many brushes and options. There is an automation option where you pick your brush types and set a few parameters then let it lose on a photo. I've been using it for a few years and have sold prints made from photos that I've painted using Painter.

Yes, Corel Painter is probably the best, but obviously comes at a price.

Topaz Impression, as a plugin to Topaz Studio, does a good job as well (especially because of the many presets to get one starting).
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2020, 11:14:39 am »

Thanks y'all. I have been experimenting with Corel Painter and it is very impressive! I'll be having some fun.

jrsforums

« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2020, 01:01:42 pm »

You may want to look at either Topaz Labs ‘Studio’ or Exposure Software (was Alien Skin) ‘Snap Art 4’