Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?  (Read 1436 times)

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3978
    • Photos of Arkansas

Has anyone tried the "edit with" option with 20.0.4 on a windows machine to edit an image in CC?  This feature has been broken since the first update to C1 20.  It worked fine with the base release, but has never since.

Edit:  I wanted to add, the "edit with" is a C1 plugin and with my windows 10 machine after version 20.0, the plugin is disabled.  You can go to the plugin's part of C1 under pref's and see that it's greyed out

Just curious.

Thanks
Paul C
« Last Edit: April 09, 2020, 03:02:08 pm by Paul2660 »
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13521
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2020, 05:27:08 pm »

Has anyone tried the "edit with" option with 20.0.4 on a windows machine to edit an image in CC?  This feature has been broken since the first update to C1 20.  It worked fine with the base release, but has never since.


Hi Paul,

I will try later on Mac.

Cheers,
Bernard

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3978
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2020, 05:34:24 pm »

Hi Bernard.

Hope you are doing ok through this.

It works ok on macs. Itís just on windows for some reason.

20.0 was fine. But all upgraded since itís been broken.

Take care
Paul C

Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

FranciscoDisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1618
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2020, 05:43:31 pm »

Hi,

No problem with any of the 20.0.x versions. I'm currently using 20.0.4 and it works fine on both my workstation and laptop with Windows 10, using the latest version of Photoshop

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13521
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2020, 06:09:12 pm »

Hi Bernard.

Hope you are doing ok through this.

It works ok on macs. Itís just on windows for some reason.

20.0 was fine. But all upgraded since itís been broken.

Hi Paul,

Thanks for asking. I am doing fine, how about yourself?

Yes, no issue seen on Mac.

Take care too.

Cheers,
Bernard

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3978
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2020, 07:20:09 pm »

Hi,

No problem with any of the 20.0.x versions. I'm currently using 20.0.4 and it works fine on both my workstation and laptop with Windows 10, using the latest version of Photoshop

Hi

Were you able to use the edit with feature in 20.0.3?  I am not and had to go back to 20.0. There are a lot of posts about this out there. It broke after 20.0 was updated. Tons of things to try none worked for me.

Thanks
Paul
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

FranciscoDisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1618
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2020, 07:29:25 pm »

Hi

Were you able to use the edit with feature in 20.0.3?


Hi, yes, I used it quite a lot for an assignment while on 20.0.3, then I updated to 20.0.4 and had no issues at all.

IanSeward

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2020, 06:19:55 am »

Has anyone tried the "edit with" option with 20.0.4 on a windows machine to edit an image in CC?  This feature has been broken since the first update to C1 20.  It worked fine with the base release, but has never since.

Just curious.

Thanks
Paul C

Edit with works as usual on C1 20 .01 - .04 - Win 10 Pro 1909.  What exactly is your issue or is it just with PSCC?

Ian
Logged

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3978
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2020, 09:12:50 pm »

For me itís PSCC.  but the entire plugin is disabled for my Windows 10 machines once I move past 20.0.  If you go into pref's and try to enable it, it's greyed out.

I have not loaded 20.0.4 but will tomorrow. With any version of C1 20 besides the base version, if I choose ďedit withĒ it might be edit in canít remember for sure even though I use it all the time.  The image will not open in CC. Works as itís supposed to in 20.0 first released version.

Paul C
« Last Edit: April 09, 2020, 03:03:13 pm by Paul2660 »
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

IanSeward

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2020, 11:51:13 am »

For me itís PSCC.  but the entire plugin is disabled for my Windows 10 machines once I move past 20.0.  If you go into pref's and try to enable it, it's greyed out.

I have not loaded 20.0.4 but will tomorrow. With any version of C1 20 besides the base version, if I choose ďedit withĒ it might be edit in canít remember for sure even though I use it all the time.  The image will not open in CC. Works as itís supposed to in 20.0 first released version.

Paul C

Have you tried re-registering the current version of PSCC by right clicking on a jpg using file explorer and selecting "open with", "choose another app", selecting PSCC and tick the box for "always use this app"?  It's the silly way Phaseone registers programs in plugin preferences.

Ian
Logged

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3978
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2020, 08:58:16 am »

Hi Ian, I tried that, but still no good.

I had opened a ticket with C1/P1 on this and did hear back.  It's a known bug since version 20.0.2.  Seems to effect some windows 10 machine and not others.  P1 has known about it since Jan 2020, so I guess that they will eventually fix it. 

It's strange, I have 2 windows 10 machines, both home built Asus boxes, 1 is 4 years old, and my main machine for processing, and it fails to work on that one.  The newer machine the plugin works. 

P1 stated it has something to do with code changes they made to 20.0.2 and how extensions are handled. 

Paul C
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

FranciscoDisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1618
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2020, 07:58:09 pm »

I have 2 windows 10 machines, both home built Asus boxes, 1 is 4 years old, and my main machine for processing, and it fails to work on that one.  The newer machine the plugin works. 

Paul C

Are both machines updated to the same Windows version? (e.g. 1909)

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3978
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2020, 03:49:12 pm »

Yes both are current.

I sent the logs to Phase. They were familiar with this issue. Itís due to a coding change at 20.0.2 that was not well tested.

Quite a bit written about by other users from Jan 2020 and on up.

Paul C
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3978
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #13 on: May 20, 2020, 12:29:07 pm »

With the latest version of C1 20, this issue is fixed.

Paul C
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

sc_john

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2020, 04:43:30 pm »

With the latest version of C1 20, this issue is fixed.

Paul C

Interesting... I just upgraded and have the "Edit With" problem. Also, my keyword counts in Filters section are wacko. Count for a keyword may indicate 3, but when clicking on keyword to see images, there a hundred +. This is getting old with Capture One releases...

John
Logged

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3978
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2020, 08:59:00 am »

Interesting... I just upgraded and have the "Edit With" problem. Also, my keyword counts in Filters section are wacko. Count for a keyword may indicate 3, but when clicking on keyword to see images, there a hundred +. This is getting old with Capture One releases...

John

Yes, sadly with the latest release it's "broken" again.  You have to run 20 version 13.1.0 to have it working on my win10 machine that has the problems.  If I updated to 13.1.1 it's broken again.

Strange that it broke between two versions.  I will open yet another ticket. 

Both win10 machine are as current as the Windows Automatic update process allows. 

Paul C
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

HCS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2020, 02:23:28 am »

Works for me.

Windows 10 Pro (workstation), version 1909.

Capture one 20, version 13.1.1.31 (build d27660c).

I tried " Edit with" with Affintiy Photo.
Logged
Hans Cremers

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3978
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: C1 20.0.4, has anyone tried "edit with" on a windows machine?
« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2020, 07:24:15 am »

Yes it seems to work on some machines and is broken on others. 

First version of 20 was broken for me, 2nd version worked and still does (had to back down to it), 13.1.1 is broken again.

It seems that newer win10 machines do not have this issue.  I have 2, new build works as it should, older machine is the problem one. 

I did check and both machines are the up to the same level of windows updates. 

Strange issue.

Paul C
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up