Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 3880 print hints  (Read 682 times)

Dean Cully

• Dean Cully Photography
Epson 3880 print hints
« on: March 02, 2020, 10:19:47 pm »

This explanation of papers is highly informative and welcome due to the vast selection, to say the least.

My comment regards a "hack" I've been using for a few years with my Epson 3880 printers, one of which has been delightfully converted to the Cone Piezography K7 neutral carbon pigment B&W system; the other, in use since 2010, is gradually having its color inkset replaced with the Cone Color Pro pigment set.

I haven't used sheet paper for my large prints for several years. I purchase 24" roll paper, typically Canson Platine Fibre Rag 320, set it up in a horizontal holder made of 1-1/2 inch black ABS plumbing pipe (utilizing the 3" plastic tube inserts that come with the paper; never discard these. The inside diameter is slightly more than 1.5") adjacent to a 36" paper cutter. Usually I cut several sheets to 17" and lay them flat for a day or more to let the curl relax. I usually lay a thick bath towel over a glassine sheet on top of the sheet(s) to apply light, even pressure, though, I've found this isn't strictly necessary, as the printer is pretty well behaved in accepting freshly-cut sheets. I load only one-at-a-time, of course, through the usual vertical sheet feed.