Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Issue Where C1 Seems to Be Going Dead and I Lose Work  (Read 441 times)

chadchat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Issue Where C1 Seems to Be Going Dead and I Lose Work
« on: December 28, 2019, 04:03:41 pm »

This is a bit difficult to explain because it's not clear to me what's happening, however fairly regularly I will be working my way through folders in a catalog in Capture One and all of a sudden when I select the next folder the browser states 'no images in collection'. I select another folder and I get the same thing, even though that I can see there are x no# of images there in each folder. At this point I know that if I try to backup the catalog it will fail. This action fails every time and it also means that if I switch to a new catalog or reopen Capture One I will have lost my recent work. This happened to me in 12 and it still happens in 20. It's as if Capture One has lost connection ...or something, but I don't know of anyway to wake it up.
My catalog is on an internal SSD drive in my PC, which I back up to a NAS. I used to have my catalogs on my NAS which I would have to wake up sometimes, but even then I didn't have this issue. C1 still states that I have 10208 images in my catalog (it happens with other catalogs also, not just this one), recent imports are still there, all looks normal except my filters aren't populated, meaning there are to rating or color tags listed when there should be, and my browser says there are no images in the collection.
I can still right click on a folder and 'Show in Explorer', but that's about all I can do.

Has anybody had a similar experience, or understands what's happening and how to fix it?
« Last Edit: December 28, 2019, 05:00:29 pm by chadchat »
Logged

IanSeward

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
Re: Issue Where C1 Seems to Be Going Dead and I Lose Work
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2019, 06:20:49 am »

This is a bit difficult to explain because it's not clear to me what's happening, however fairly regularly I will be working my way through folders in a catalog in Capture One and all of a sudden when I select the next folder the browser states 'no images in collection'. I select another folder and I get the same thing, even though that I can see there are x no# of images there in each folder. At this point I know that if I try to backup the catalog it will fail. This action fails every time and it also means that if I switch to a new catalog or reopen Capture One I will have lost my recent work. This happened to me in 12 and it still happens in 20. It's as if Capture One has lost connection ...or something, but I don't know of anyway to wake it up.
My catalog is on an internal SSD drive in my PC, which I back up to a NAS. I used to have my catalogs on my NAS which I would have to wake up sometimes, but even then I didn't have this issue. C1 still states that I have 10208 images in my catalog (it happens with other catalogs also, not just this one), recent imports are still there, all looks normal except my filters aren't populated, meaning there are to rating or color tags listed when there should be, and my browser says there are no images in the collection.
I can still right click on a folder and 'Show in Explorer', but that's about all I can do.

Has anybody had a similar experience, or understands what's happening and how to fix it?

I think you need to open a support request with Phaseone, if you haven't already done so.  Have you tried verifying the catalogue?

Ian
Logged

chadchat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Issue Where C1 Seems to Be Going Dead and I Lose Work
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2019, 03:41:13 am »

Yes I have opened a support request and also posted on the Phase One forum. On the advice I received there I have verified all my catalogs also.
I thought it best to ask widely in hope that I'd find someone who'd been through the same experience.

Earlier I posted here about a bug where C1 would crash most of the time, but not all, when I used Alt+Del to permanently delete a selection. No one said they'd experienced the same issue, so perhaps there's something particular about my PC build that's causing some issues.
Logged

IanSeward

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
Re: Issue Where C1 Seems to Be Going Dead and I Lose Work
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2019, 05:24:12 am »

Yes I have opened a support request and also posted on the Phase One forum. On the advice I received there I have verified all my catalogs also.
I thought it best to ask widely in hope that I'd find someone who'd been through the same experience.

Earlier I posted here about a bug where C1 would crash most of the time, but not all, when I used Alt+Del to permanently delete a selection. No one said they'd experienced the same issue, so perhaps there's something particular about my PC build that's causing some issues.

First port of call in these situations for me is to uninstall C1, reboot and reinstall from a fresh download of C1.  Hope you get things sorted.

Ian
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up