Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problem printing B&W with ipf8400  (Read 519 times)

Dward

Problem printing B&W with ipf8400
« on: June 23, 2019, 10:45:15 am »

I'm in the midst of a time-sensitive project, printing 25 20x30 images, which I converted from color to B&W using Nik, On1, and Topaz, attempting to get truly neutral prints.  However, no matter which conversion technique I use, and no matter whether or not  I convert the RGB image to Grayscale, have Photoshop manage colors or printer manage colors, turn ColorMatch on or off--whatever settings I use, I get a VERY warm, almost sepia print.    Any suggestions are urgently welcome!  Thanks in advance.

David V. Ward

deanwork

Re: Problem printing B&W with ipf8400
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2019, 12:18:49 pm »

I’ve been using this printer for many years and I have never been able to create a successful neutral print on any media using the canon driver and their photoshop plug-in. Unlike the HPz series you cant just use the gray and black inks and linearize that . There is also a lot of metameric color shift going on under various light sources.

However, Canon allowed Bowhaus to use their codes and create a really good precise easily adjustable solution. You can make presets and custom curves right in their software for any media and save them.

The deal is you can waste a huge amount of time and materials trying to make clean bw prints on this printer or layout a couple of hundred bucks for an excellent solution. Eliminating the color inks if you want also makes the prints more permanent, though you can easily tone them with the channel sliders and micro adjustments if you want.

The good news is you can download this software for free and choose one of their curves that comes the closest to your media and see for yourself. It will have a watermark though.

http://www.trueblackandwhite.com/

John