Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Aperture & iPhoto workflow  (Read 12977 times)

Mosccol

Aperture & iPhoto workflow
« on: November 10, 2006, 11:29:28 am »

Hello

I am an amateur shooting 50-100 pics/week currently using jpg only as my Canon's AWB is actually pretty good. At present I dump everything into iPhoto; when a picture needs reworking I bring it into Photoshop and when I am completely happy I export back to high quality jpg. This means that there is only one 'return trip' between original and saved picture.

I have downloaded the Aperture tryout but before I invest several dozen hours in learning a new app, I would like to understand how I can integrate Aperture and iPhoto together.

I know that version 1.5 makes a lot about its compatibility with iLife, but I need to know what is the best workflow for an Aperture/iPhoto combo. Has anybody ditched  iPhoto completely, or is there a way to work with both? Also, if there is a Photoshop intervention (i.e. remove blemishes or dust), where would that fit in the workflow?

Thanks! I'm sure I'm not the only one with these existentialist questions...
Canon 7 & L Glass + iPhone 6 ... Where n

Tom Dibble

« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2006, 12:36:29 am »

I know that version 1.5 makes a lot about its compatibility with iLife, but I need to know what is the best workflow for an Aperture/iPhoto combo. Has anybody ditched  iPhoto completely, or is there a way to work with both? Also, if there is a Photoshop intervention (i.e. remove blemishes or dust), where would that fit in the workflow?

Thanks! I'm sure I'm not the only one with these existentialist questions...
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=84497\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

My workflow goes like this:

I shoot raw (Canon 300D).

Once "home", I plug my CF card into the reader, which brings up Aperture.  I copy all the photos over into Aperture in a new project (which seems heavy-weight; some day I'll look into a lighter-weight way to do that).