Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Resolve 16 (beta)  (Read 447 times)

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2940
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Resolve 16 (beta)
« on: April 22, 2019, 10:29:57 am »

I just tried out Resolve 16 beta.
OK I know I should back everything up before trying out betas, but in the past Resolve has been very well behaved.

This time, not so well behaved.

It did ask if I wanted to upgrade my database, but didn't offer to back it up. The new format is incompatible with older versions.

Unfortunately 16 won't run very well on my Windows 7 machine (i7 3.9ghz, 32gb, GTX470 and all SSDs), so I uninstalled and now have lost access to previous projects.
Not a major disaster, just rather annoying.

Don't be complacent, it's a beta.
Logged

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2194
    • Pieter Kers
Re: Resolve 16 (beta)
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2019, 04:21:05 pm »

not so clever... but maybe you can change the database back- there must be a tool they have to return to the old database structure.
I cannot imagine they a come up with a new database layout without such a tool.
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2940
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Resolve 16 (beta)
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2019, 04:59:46 pm »

there must be a tool they have to return to the old database structure.
I cannot imagine they a come up with a new database layout without such a tool.
From what I can see on the BM forum, there's no tool available. If you haven't backed up the database it's just tough.

Maybe a future version will be more stable and I'll be able to use the database again.

Frankly I hadn't appreciated the importance of the database in Resolve's operation. Not a good lesson today. Hopefullu others will be more careful or knowledgeable.



Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 885
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: Resolve 16 (beta)
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2019, 05:57:58 pm »

Can you use a Win 7 restore point?

Thanks for the heads up.  I use v15 and with my very limited use can hold off for a long time....
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2940
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Resolve 16 (beta)
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2019, 02:51:51 am »

Can you use a Win 7 restore point?
No, that doesn't restore (back up) user data, which is what teh database really is, only system files.
Logged

smthopr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 537
    • Bruce Alan Greene Cinematography
Re: Resolve 16 (beta)
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2019, 02:09:26 pm »

For anyone using Resolve...

Always export a .drp file of your project everyday.  The Resolve database can sometimes be corrupted and it's a best practice not to trust it as a back up.

Every project, at least once per day!

Sorry, I wish I could help you with your lost projects...
Logged
Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2940
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Resolve 16 (beta)
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2019, 02:27:08 pm »

Thanks, that's a useful strategy.

I'm not convinced that Resolve having to work through a project database is an ideal way to work for many of it's amateur users. Just saving the project as self-standing file (like Premiere etc) would certainly suit me better.

Maybe a future version of 16 will be usable here, so the new database might become usable again to return access to old work, but it's no disaster if it never happens.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2019, 02:46:44 pm by Rhossydd »
Logged

smthopr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 537
    • Bruce Alan Greene Cinematography
Re: Resolve 16 (beta)
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2019, 07:18:39 pm »

Thanks, that's a useful strategy.

I'm not convinced that Resolve having to work through a project database is an ideal way to work for many of it's amateur users. Just saving the project as self-standing file (like Premiere etc) would certainly suit me better.

Maybe a future version of 16 will be usable here, so the new database might become usable again to return access to old work, but it's no disaster if it never happens.
  The .drp export is a self standing file.  It's just not what happens when you select "save", but it's the same thing as you'd do in Premiere et al.
Logged
Bruce Alan Greene
www.brucealangreene.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up