Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What is the best process for printing on sample paper?  (Read 1208 times)

datack

What is the best process for printing on sample paper?
« on: March 20, 2019, 04:44:40 am »

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to printing, but I've got my workflow down for printing and churned out a few nice prints that I'm happy with.
I'm now at the stage where I've bought a few different packs of sample paper so I can have a play and work out what types I like best.
I have created a composite image using a few different types (a black and white with a lot of tonal range, a bright sunny outdoor scene, a portrait with good skin tone, and one of the printing test images for good measure all arranged nicely) so I'm ready to print with a consistent image.

Now when it comes time to print to these different papers I have all the right profiles, but I am not 100% sure what is the best way to approach that one image.

Should I?
A. Use the exact same image for all papers and do no soft proofing and editing for the specific paper type?
or
B. Soft proof with each paper type and adjust the image to look like the original before printing to each type of paper?

My assumption is that option A would give me the most variation between prints, and option B would have less variation but you'd probably see the changes in paper colour and texture better as the variations would be more subtle?

I feel like option B is probably a more true to life representation of how once I've chosen my favourite papers I'd actually work so it might be the better option... but I'm curious how other people do it?
Or did you do it completely different way altogether?

Cheers,
Duncan

Panagiotis

• Fine Art Print
Re: What is the best process for printing on sample paper?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2019, 06:54:52 am »

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to printing, but I've got my workflow down for printing and churned out a few nice prints that I'm happy with.