Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Checking monitor calibration  (Read 26124 times)

RedRebel

Checking monitor calibration
« on: November 05, 2006, 08:57:06 am »

There are many discusions about monitor calibration, which colorimeter to use, which software, colour temp setting etc...

But after you have calibrated your monitor using lets say an Optix XR, how do you actualy verify if the monitor colours are right?

...to go one step further (I intend to buy an new monitor) how do you judge the colour capabilities of a monitor? I know that Gretag Macbeth sells colour check cards, but can you use those cards to actualy verify if the monitor is well calibrated and which colour spectrum it can display...or is this a stupid question..

I am not a pro so I just ask...

Tim Gray

• http://www.timgrayphotography.com
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2006, 09:43:40 am »

I don't think there's any way to visually verify the success of the calibration.  Experts could probably detect a problem, but that's an acquired skill.

I also don't think comparing a Gretag card is going to help much either.  The difference in the quality of light between the reflected light of the card and transmitted light of the monitor make such a comparison very difficult for us mere mortals.

Any calibration technique incorporating subjective assessment (eg Adobe Gamma) is fraught with hazzards.

eronald

• My gallery on Instagram
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2006, 01:06:59 pm »

There are a variety of techniques to use. I strongly recommend getting a Gretag Colorchecker chart, it is a reference that once also uses for print comparison. Then you compare the screen image of the chart with your physical chart and this gives you an insight into the quality of calibration and the quality of your monitor.

Also, you need to print some sample imagery *in your favorite syle* on a profiled printer and check against what the monitor is showing - after all this is the purpose of this game.