Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mistake?  (Read 916 times)

concentrik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Mistake?
« on: January 25, 2019, 01:54:30 pm »

I bought an i1Pro without the disc;  it works fine under iprofiler but of course won't create ICC because it's not registered and i don't have the registration details (the original owner has probably upgraded and cancelled reg for my device),

Apart fro Argyll, which scares me because of the command line operation, is there another software suite which mimics iProfiler and will run an i1Pro?
Logged

Doug Gray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1895
Re: Mistake?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2019, 02:04:31 pm »

I bought an i1Pro without the disc;  it works fine under iprofiler but of course won't create ICC because it's not registered and i don't have the registration details (the original owner has probably upgraded and cancelled reg for my device),

Apart fro Argyll, which scares me because of the command line operation, is there another software suite which mimics iProfiler and will run an i1Pro?

I'm pretty sure there isn't. However, if you find someone that is selling their old Profile Maker 5 with a dongle, the dongle should work with the I1Pro. The command line Argyll stuff isn't really that hard to use and their directions are reasonably good.

You can also export the I1Profiler scans as CGATs and Argyll can use them to create profiles.
Logged

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12512
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Mistake?
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2019, 02:16:14 pm »

Doug's advice is fine, but if you want to avoid using a command-line application, the issue is to be able to use it with i1Profiler for which you need a license from X-Rite. You should ask whoever you bought it from to provide the licensing information and enabling device, if any, so that you can call X-Rite and get the ownership transferred; this may need the original owner's cooperation. Otherwise you would need to buy a license for i1Profiler from X-Rite, or a license from basICColor Print 5 to their Print 5 application, to be able to generate the profiles. Be advised, none of this software comes cheap, and from what I've seen, Argyll at least comes with usable documentation, compared with X-Rite's i1Profiler, which has none. basICColor comes with a manual also.
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

howardm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1983
Re: Mistake?
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2019, 03:00:34 pm »

Before we scare the @#%^! out of the OP, I think the more 'appropriate' (price-wise) tool is DropRGB from Basiccolor which only does RGB
(vs. Print which also does CMYK).

https://www.basiccolor.de/basiccolor-droprgb-en/

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12512
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Mistake?
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2019, 03:13:30 pm »

Good catch Howard. I had tested the larger application, so that's the one I knew about; but this looks like a good option and at a quarter the price perhaps a great option.
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

Alan Goldhammer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3851
    • A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Mistake?
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2019, 09:21:23 am »


Apart fro Argyll, which scares me because of the command line operation, is there another software suite which mimics iProfiler and will run an i1Pro?
This tutorial on using Argyll is very good and should reduce the 'scare' factor for you:  https://www.ludd.ltu.se/~torger/photography/argyll-print.html#toc0  Torger has been a participant on LuLa and developed a camera profiling software package.  If you are running Windows 10, command line stuff is really easy to install.  I've been using Argyll for a while now and I just create saved command line arguments where I only have to do a couple of minor tweaks to get them to run.  If you are interested, send me a PM and I'll send you my workflow.
Logged

HarveyM43

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Mistake?
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2019, 09:23:41 am »

If you do decide on Argyll, you can use DisplayCAL (freeware) as Argyllís graphic interface for monitor calibration. I understand itís well liked by users.
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2978
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Mistake?
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2019, 10:50:41 am »

The i1Pro has been around for a long time now (as opposed to the current  i1Pro2). The early ones were supplied with i1Match profiling software and the licence is held in the i1Pro hardware itself. Some will have all options enabled, some a lot less depending on what i1Photo package was originally bought or if the owner subsequently upgraded.

If you're running on Windows you can download i1Match for free from X-Rite and see what works. Whilst it's not as capable as Profiler, it will still deliver pretty good basic profiles.

If you've a recent Mac, it won't work.
Logged

Pat Herold

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 157
Re: Mistake?
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2019, 08:07:19 pm »

The old i1Pros acted as their own dongle.  You could download i1Diagnostics software (free) and when you run it through its paces, it will tell you what license modules the i1Pro has embedded in it. That might be helpful.
https://www.xrite.com/service-support/downloads/i/i1diagnostics_v4_1_2
Logged
-Patrick Herold
  Tech Support,  chromix.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up