Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What roll widths to stock?  (Read 538 times)

Panagiotis

• Fine Art Print
What roll widths to stock?
« on: January 16, 2019, 02:25:00 am »

In my location is not easy to get in time inkjet paper because distributors don't stock much. So I want to start to build a small inventory and I wonder what others (mainly print shops) do. Do you keep every available roll width (17", 24", 36", 44") or you skip some? I understand that it depends on many factors but I am totally new to this and any advice will be welcomed. Thanks.

Ernst Dinkla

Re: What roll widths to stock?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2019, 05:22:33 am »

The wider and longer the roll the more images can be nested profitably. As long as the cutting afterwards does not get too complex.  With Qimage Ultimate custom print pages can be specified and different kinds of nesting. That helps. However two or four identical 45 cm wide images will fit better on a 36" wide roll than on a 44" if wasted paper is counted. I usually have 44" and 36" wide rolls in stock (30, 20, 12 meter depending on what is offered). If the job contains a lot of near 60 cm wide images I will order a 24" roll with the idea to fully use it on that job and add some prints on the other roll widths to avoid being left with the rest of a 24" roll. Never order 17" rolls, too slow in printing and usually the nesting on wider is more convenient. Least interested in sheets. With an 80x100 cm image printed on 44"or 36" width, on 44" wide the print time is shorter, paper waste less . The devil is in the detail.

Met vriendelijke groet, Ernst

http://www.pigment-print.com/spectralplots/spectrumviz_1.htm
March 2017 update, 750+ inkjet media white spectral plots

« Last Edit: January 16, 2019, 09:29:58 am by Ernst Dinkla »

Panagiotis

• Fine Art Print
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2019, 06:13:54 am »