Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson P7000 printhead clog  (Read 6791 times)

biswas_arup

Epson P7000 printhead clog
« on: November 17, 2018, 03:30:06 pm »

This is my first post to the forum, though I had an article posted on the LuLA site few years ago. I am a part-time fine art photographer and print maker and exhibit/sell my prints in a local co-op art gallery in the San Francisco Bay area. Anyways, coming back to the point - I purchased an Epson p7000 printer in July 2017, after my Epson 7900 developed a severe nozzle clog that could not be removed after 7 years of use. I was very happy with the new printer, until 3 weeks ago, when it failed an automatic head cleaning while switching from Photo Black to Matt Black ink. After one retry, which also failed, I cancelled the automatic cleaning. I then tried a nozzle check. The photo black channel was showing a little gap in the nozzle check pattern. I tried a few cleaning cycles and power cleanings, still no improvoment. I tried cleaning the print head using a paper towel soaked in piezoflush overnight, still no improvement. When I reported this to the Epson certified technician, he recommened replacing the printhead and the capping assembly and pump. The cost of which would be exactly equal to that of a new Epson p-7000 :-( Since then, the gap in the nozzle check has gradually deteriorated. I am not ready to give up on the printer after little over 1 year of usage.  I think I got a lemon. Otherwise, how can one explain a printhead failure only after 13 monts of light usage? I am wondering, if anyone in the forum has had similar experience and know any way to clean this stubborn printhead clog. Any experience with Magic Bullet or cleaning cartridges from AbsoluteInkJet? I would appreciate your thoughts and suggestions.

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Epson P7000 printhead clog
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2018, 03:44:26 pm »