Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Nikon Z7 real-world experience...  (Read 5008 times)

Dan Wells

Nikon Z7 real-world experience...
« on: November 09, 2018, 10:32:51 pm »

I finally have enough images on my Z7, after getting out for a long shoot (the third with the Z7) yesterday, to have formed some real opinions based on about 500 shots.

My background is that I've been shooting landscape for over 15 years, using digital cameras ranging from the first Canon EOS-D30 to the brand-new Z7 plus some medium format film. I'm most familiar with Fuji and Nikon, but I taught photography at the university level for years, and have dealt with most cameras (and their files) at some point.

First, the positives...

There's something special about the files at low ISO. While I have largely used Fuji APS-C in recent years, I am quite familiar with the A7r (original) and the D800e, although not with the successors of either. Compared to any other camera I have used, there is a "presence" to Z7 files at or near ISO 64 that I have not seen in other digital files - yes, they have enormous resolution and dynamic range, but there is something even more than that. Looking at a file of this quality is like seeing a large format transparency for the first time (I'd place the overall quality quite securely above any medium-format transparency I've seen, scanned on any scanner I've had access to - I have never used an Imacon or a drum scanner). I suspect that the "presence" is created by a combination of three factors - the resolution, the dynamic range, and the fact that low-ISO files are utterly noiseless. Medium-format digital shooters talk about something similar - I've only handled medium-format digital in shows or stores). I'm quite sure D850 files with a good lens would be similar (it's a very similar sensor), and I strongly suspect the A7r mk III might have it too.