Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Advice request on display calibration  (Read 1928 times)

Panagiotis

• Fine Art Print
Advice request on display calibration
« on: November 01, 2018, 07:15:45 am »

I am relatively new to display calibration and printing so I request your advice.

I watched Andrew Rodney's video "why are my prints too dark?" from which I understand that there is no magic number for display brightness.

I set up for a friend an Epson SC-P800. I wish to calibrate his new display (BenQ SW240) with my i1display pro.

My main concern is the level of brightness I will target for the calibration.

I am thinking to proceed like this (please correct me if I am wrong):

1. Adjust the level of lighting in the room at a comfortable and stable level.

2. Put a printed standard evaluation image under the viewing light (which is a desktop dimmable lamp fitted with a 5000K bulb) and adjust the level of lighting at a "correct" level and then remove the printed image and replace it with a plain paper of the same type.

3. Turn on the display, let it warm up, and adjust its brightness (and the white level as close as possible) at the same level as the paper under the viewing light.

4. Profile the display.

Any correction or advice is welcomed. Thanks.

Ethan Hansen

• Dry Creek Photo
Re: Advice request on display calibration
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2018, 03:51:17 pm »