Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: digital wide angle  (Read 9733 times)

Stealthfixr

digital wide angle
« on: May 24, 2005, 06:27:30 pm »

I just bought a 10-22 Canon EF-S lens, as well as the 17-40/4L and 70-200/4L.  I am not a professional, but it seems the 10-22 compares very well with the 17-40 in terms of build and initial image quality impressions.  I've not tested it over a long period of time, but it's a solid keeper so far.  Also, it takes the same lens hood as the 17-40, so if you have both do not buy the additional hood for the 10-22.  It also takes normal thickness 77mm filters without vignetting--very nice for such an incredible coverage.  Wide angle distortion can be very fun to play with, too.  Good luck!

ptelgenhoff@hotmail.com

digital wide angle
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2005, 09:00:13 pm »

Thanks so much for responding...I will keep checking it out but it looks like a solid yes on the canon...Do you know by any chance why the sites are saying that the angle of view on the sigma 12-24mm is wider (122) than the canon 10-22mm (107) ?

http://www.dcviews.com/lenses/Canon-comp-lenses.htm

But this site shows otherwise....
http://www.canon-20d.com/wide-angle-lens-compare.php

I don't know what to think>>>

akclimber

digital wide angle
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2005, 04:32:21 pm »

Don't rule out using the kit lens and stitching multiple images (altho frankly, 18mm is pretty wide even on a 1.6 crop DSLR).  See my recent post in the "7 tips for Landscapes" thread for some thoughts and images of SE Alaska.

Enjoy your trip.  If you'd like info on photo ops here in SE Alaska, let me know.

CHeers!

akclimber

digital wide angle
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2005, 01:17:17 pm »