Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canons biggest announcement wasn’t the camera...  (Read 2542 times)

TonyVentourisPhotography

• Unlocking Olympus
Canons biggest announcement wasn’t the camera...
« on: September 05, 2018, 07:56:51 pm »

In my mind their biggest announcement were the lens adapters with drop in cpl or nd filter. 

That makes the 17mm tse a much better proposition on the Mirrorless body than it does on the dslrs. Easy cpl use and The flip out screen makes ground level or against the wall shots much easier too.  (Can you tell I’m an architectural photographer)

Now I’m wondering if we would get to see some other manufacturers offering filters in adapters for other brands and mounts.  What a great idea.
Tony
Unlockingolympus.com (ebooks & blog on getting the most from your OMD & Pen)
tonyventourisphotography.com (Commercial Photography)

BJL

Re: Canons biggest announcement wasn’t the camera...
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2018, 08:20:42 pm »

In my mind their biggest announcement were the lens adapters with drop in cpl or nd filter. 

....  What a great idea.
Agreed; that really caught my eye amongst the rumors. For now drop in filters only work with adapted EF lenses, so I wonder if some future R lenses, at focal lengths not needing rear elements so close to the sensor, will get a filter drawer?

alan_b

• West Coast Architecture + Interiors Photographer
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2018, 08:51:06 pm »

Yeah, great idea!  I imagine we'll see 3rd party versions of this shortly.

Along the same lines...  I think Nikon's best non-camera announcement is the road map of lenses - much appreciated!

Bernard ODonovan

« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2018, 09:18:38 pm »

That makes the 17mm tse a much better proposition on the Mirrorless body than it does on the dslrs. Easy cpl use and The flip out screen makes ground level or against the wall shots much easier too.  (Can you tell I’m an architectural photographer)