Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Opinions on a pure mirrorless world?  (Read 3529 times)

32BT

• Pictures
Opinions on a pure mirrorless world?
« on: August 07, 2018, 10:12:46 am »

So, due to the recent discussions on the next wave of mirrorless offerings, i came across a sentence suggesting that the future might be a "pure mirrorless" world. I'm the first to admit the advantages of electronic viewfinders, primarily because i'm a real bad photographer (or would be if we were still shooting film) and fading eye-sight doesn't help either, but having used evf for a while now, i do slowly long back to the direct connection with reality one has with a slapper.

So my question is this: what's your take on a "mirrorless only" future?
- maybe one day
- sooner rather than later
- never

?
Regards,
~ O ~
If you can stomach it: pictures

KLaban

• Keith Laban Photography
Re: Opinions on a pure mirrorless world?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2018, 10:59:16 am »

My own solution - while eyesight permits - to the question of OVF or EVF is to cheat and use both in the form of an OVF (rangefinder) and (toy grade, for the moment) EVF on the same body. Both give me advantages over the slapper with admittedly one or two disadvantages: I wouldn't choose to be without either the RFOVF or the EVF.

I can't see myself ever returning to the slapper (the wife would give me hell) or even wanting to. My crystal ball sees me using the above combination for as long as I can followed by the use of a far superior EVF.

Choice is everything.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2018, 02:36:46 pm by KLaban »

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2018, 03:29:55 pm »

I currently don’t intend to replace my DSLR by a mirrorless body, eveb if it’s performance were superior.

The mirrorless body, whatever it ends up being, will complement it.