Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Importing process  (Read 1024 times)

Jim2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
    • http://
Importing process
« on: March 21, 2018, 12:27:20 AM »

When I'm importing thousands of images, C1 takes a long time loading the previews and image metadata. I seem to have to wait until it's done reading and loading ALL the images before hitting the "Import All" button.

If I hit the import button prematurely before it finished reading / loading all the images it is supposed to import from the designated folder, it seem to only import those that it had already done preloading.

I wish it would just import everything in the folder as it's told, that way I can point it to a large folder to import, and immediately hit "Import all" without having to wait for it to first pre-load them all which can take time.

Anyone else experiencing this same issue?
Logged

farbschlurf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 610
    • fototypo
Re: Importing process
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2018, 04:21:07 AM »

I have import problems with C1 still, too, though it seems to be a bit different than yours (or I don't understand right):

http://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=121971.msg1014853#msg1014853

I was in touch with customer support, but still no fix, hopefully with the next fix/update. It somewhat seems the import is screwed ever since C1/11 ...
Logged

UnfamiliarLight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • Unfamiliar Light
Re: Importing process
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2018, 09:26:36 AM »

Hummm. The largest shoot I have imported so far (not counting the initial import of my LR catalogue) was just over 200 images. I didn't purposefully wait for all the import windows previews to load but I am certain it was done by the time I was ready to press the import all button. So, I have not experienced that but possibly by accident.

This could be related I would think but you are experiencing it differently IMHO. If we hypothesize that C1 is scanning everything under a root folder before importing then in @Jim2's case it is scanning a source folder before copying the files and then importing them to the catalogue or session but in @farbschlurf's case it is scanning the entire photo collection looking to import things in place. In one case the wait will not be to long (relative) while in the other the wait will get longer an longer.

Did Phase One support acknowledge it as a bug? I'm not saying it is not a but I am wondering if it was recognized as a bug - internal to a development organization they are handled differently. Recognized bugs get put on a list and prioritized for fixing while suspicions and theorized bugs get investigated and thought about. :-)
Logged

Jim2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
    • http://
Re: Importing process
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2018, 11:21:10 AM »

@UnfamiliarLight I haven't yet asked PhaseOne about this. The reason my import took so long was because I was importing a folder from my "NAS" (connected via a gigabit wired network) which contained about 2000 - 5000 images that hadn't yet been imported into C1. My source folder in this case is different from (not located inside of nor is it the parent of) the destination folder, unlike the case with @farbschlurf if I understand his issue correctly.

I can see that in the case of 200 images, the loading might have finished by the time you're done visually inspecting the various settings on the import panel, but in the case of 5000+ images, that loading took a very long time. I didn't time it but I am sure it was longer than 15 minutes.

So to reiterate / clarify my question, say the import dialog only loaded 1000 images out of 5000 total, and I then clicked "Import all" button at that time, would it actually import 5000 or 1000 images? I suppose I can test it, but if it only imported 1000, that's a bug right there.
Logged

UnfamiliarLight

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • Unfamiliar Light
Re: Importing process
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2018, 11:41:27 AM »

So to reiterate / clarify my question, say the import dialog only loaded 1000 images out of 5000 total, and I then clicked "Import all" button at that time, would it actually import 5000 or 1000 images? I suppose I can test it, but if it only imported 1000, that's a bug right there.

Oh sorry I misunderstood. I thought you were telling us that it failed.

I would expect the import to work correctly and include all images in the selected folder that you asked it to import. If it did not I would call that a bug and report it to Phase One.
Logged

Jim2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
    • http://
Re: Importing process
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2018, 10:10:48 PM »

I would expect the import to work correctly and include all images in the selected folder that you asked it to import. If it did not I would call that a bug and report it to Phase One.
It seems that you're correct. I tried hitting the "Import all" button before it finished loading, and the import progress window simply continue to increase the total count to be imported as it loads them.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up