Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Convert to Profile in LR?  (Read 2462 times)

walter.sk

Convert to Profile in LR?
« on: March 15, 2018, 09:24:10 pm »

I've been softproofing and printing for many years, but I have a new situation (I'm using Photoshop CC 2018 and Lightroom Classic, on a Windows 10 machine).

My wife wants to have some prints made at Costco, and I downloaded and installed the appropriate Costco profile for their Fuji Frontier and Luster paper.  No problem softproofing with the profile, and making the "after" image a "Proof Copy," optimized to look as close to the original as possible.  For myself, I would then export the Proof Copy to Qimage and print with my printer not color managing.

I think I am supposed to upload to Costco images already converted to their profile.  Is there any way to do this in Lightroom? Or should I export the Proof Copy to Photoshop and convert to the Costco profile there?

Also, Costco prints full-bleed, and apparently increases the size of the image by  one or two percent.  Should I simply crop the image to the 11x14 size she and Costco want, but increase the canvas size by a couple of percent?

digitaldog

• Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Convert to Profile in LR?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2018, 09:26:50 pm »

I've been softproofing and printing for many years, but I have a new situation (I'm using Photoshop CC 2018 and Lightroom Classic, on a Windows 10 machine).

My wife wants to have some prints made at Costco, and I downloaded and installed the appropriate Costco profile for their Fuji Frontier and Luster paper.  No problem softproofing with the profile, and making the "after" image a "Proof Copy," optimized to look as close to the original as possible.  For myself, I would then export the Proof Copy to Qimage and print with my printer not color managing.

I think I am supposed to upload to Costco images already converted to their profile.  Is there any way to do this in Lightroom?