Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode  (Read 1167 times)

Alan Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2597
    • Flicker photos
Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« on: February 22, 2018, 10:10:44 PM »

This happens often lately.  I'll be in Library mode, then click on an image and then click Develop mode and LR fails and shuts down.  What causes this?

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1067
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2018, 11:28:28 PM »

This happens often lately.  I'll be in Library mode, then click on an image and then click Develop mode and LR fails and shuts down.  What causes this?

Iím on 7.2 Win10, donít see that.
Logged
John

TonyW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2018, 05:01:39 AM »

This happens often lately.  I'll be in Library mode, then click on an image and then click Develop mode and LR fails and shuts down.  What causes this?
Even though it seems that you have been running OK to date I would check the graphics processor and turn off acceleration, just in case
https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/kb/lightroom-gpu-faq.html#Manually%20disable%20the%20graphics%20processor

You may also want to trash preferences - in fact try this first!
https://www.lightroomqueen.com/how-do-i-reset-lightrooms-preferences/

If neither works then an uninstall reinstall seems to be the next step.

Hope at least one suggestion solves the issue
« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 05:07:30 AM by TonyW »
Logged

Alan Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2597
    • Flicker photos
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2018, 08:04:31 AM »

What do you mean by "trash preferences"?

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4360
    • My photography site
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2018, 10:03:14 AM »

Hold down Alt+Shift when you start LR. You should get a message like this:

TonyW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2018, 10:20:04 AM »

What do you mean by "trash preferences"?
Sorry Alan should really have said reset preferences (did you click on the link below), old fella trying to get some street cred  :D
Thanks John.
Logged

Alan Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2597
    • Flicker photos
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2018, 11:36:47 AM »

Thanks Tony and John.  Resetting preferences didn't work but taking the AMD Radeon card off of acceleration in LR seems to have done the job.  Thanks.  Alan.

Separate issue.  Where would you check to see how much memory and SSD is being used?  I'm running Windows 10, 64 bit and have 24gb memory and 256mb SSD.   I installed LR and Adobe Premiere Elements (video app) normally but keep my photo and video files in the D drive.  I'm not having any problems.  Just curious to see how much of the computer hardware is being used, whether I over-bought.

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4360
    • My photography site
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2018, 12:13:56 PM »

Check that the Radeon drivers are up to date. But unless you have a 4k screen, I have yet to see any benefit from enabling the GPU.

TonyW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2018, 12:34:23 PM »

Separate issue.  Where would you check to see how much memory and SSD is being used?  I'm running Windows 10, 64 bit and have 24gb memory and 256mb SSD.   I installed LR and Adobe Premiere Elements (video app) normally but keep my photo and video files in the D drive.  I'm not having any problems.  Just curious to see how much of the computer hardware is being used, whether I over-bought.
To see and monitor CPU, Disk, and Memory, in the search bar at the bottom left of the Win 10 screen click and type 'resmon' (no quotes).  Then click on the resmon run command highlighted in the dialogue box.  You will get a dialogue (similar to attached) opening with information that you can view including real-time monitoring.  Click on the up-down arrows to see more information than you probably need: :).

EDIT: Had forgotten Task Manger type into search window as in the above example

IME it is unlikely that you have overbought or over-specced, if not now in a few months with updates you will probably need it  ;).

As John said always worth checking up to date drivers.  Something in the back of my mind about AMD drivers and early issues with graphics acceleration.  Adobe and AMD were rumoured to be working on it to fix - I assume this has happened at some time but not sure as I use and favour Nvidia
« Last Edit: February 23, 2018, 01:17:50 PM by TonyW »
Logged

Alan Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2597
    • Flicker photos
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2018, 10:54:22 PM »

Where do I see the CCD?

TonyW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2018, 05:37:00 AM »

If I understand what you are looking for the SSD is listed in both Task Manager and Resource Monitor just as Disk.  In the attached, you will see that my highlighted Disk 0 (C:) is a Samsung 850 SSD.  Not shown in this view is my other disk D, a normal spinner.  You will note that you can view the Read and Write speeds and other info in these two applications.

If you just want to see used and free space just find your particular disk device (My PC) and right click to bring up the window shown at the bottom of attached.

Hope this covers what you are looking for
Logged

Alan Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2597
    • Flicker photos
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2018, 10:49:26 AM »

Thanks.  I found it.  Doesn't seem like the SSD is being used that much.  I'm publishing a movie using premiere and working with LR at the same time.  SSD is less than 4%.  Memory is around 8.6gb.  Is that normal?  How do you make sure that the SSD is fully being used to speed up operations?

TonyW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2018, 01:06:20 PM »

Depending on application you may well find that the SSD is not used much if at all after the initial loading.  A little ( ???) background information that may be of some help

When LR or any other application first opens you will see a peak in disk access.  Mine for instance (now that I have looked!) hits 70-80% on the first session.  With PS open as well it may well hit 50-60% when PS first opened. 

AFAIK if you close the applications down and reopen disk activity does not peak again at such high figures, maybe only reaching a few percent.

This is due to the way Windows (and Adobe?) handles applications and dynamically allocates and releases memory.

With LR and PS both open Windows reports 60% Used Physical Memory (16 GB RAM), 9391 MB in use 6741 MB available.

I have zero experience of Adobe Premiere so no knowledge of disk and memory requirements or general management and optimisation.  My guess would be that for video editing the CPU, disk and RAM requirements would be higher than LR or PS.

The benefits of SSD really depend on how an application utilizes the disk.
 
Initial SSD boot to the OS should be very noticeably faster than HDD.  As will be the case with opening any application stored on the SSD.  Then obviously any access required to the SSD during an application run should benefit.  Many applications do not need to access the disk once opened therefore you will notice no gains.

What I believe to be correct about the Adobe applications I use
(Note: There are others here more expert on under the hood best setting than I):

Lightroom like other applications will benefit from faster booting of the application.  More than 12 GB of RAM and a fast hard drive will offer benefits.  If your image files, catalogues are on an external drive that is not an SSD then you will be sacrificing some performance over them being stored on SSD

Photoshop will also benefit from faster booting of the application.  Max out on RAM always good (although I only have 16 GB currently - I will upgrade probably double).  Photoshop will always write to scratch disk which is not usually an issue unless it runs out of memory then it will need read from the scratch disk slowing progress by a good margin.  If the scratch disk happens to be an SSD then the impact should be minimal.  With enough RAM then you may never see efficiency drop below 100% and therefore the scratch disk will not need to be accessed.
Logged

Alan Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2597
    • Flicker photos
Re: Lightroom bombs when switching to Develop mode
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2018, 01:28:25 PM »

One thing I noticed is that the CPU is running at 85% to 100% when publishing the video, that is Premiere converting all the data to an effective video show.  The memory is at around 8.6gb although I;ve seen it rise to almost 12gb previously when working with 4K video.  Well thanks Tony, John and everyone else.  You've all been very helpful.
Pages: [1]   Go Up